Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2012, 09:45 PM
stevedresser83 stevedresser83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Posts: 207
Default ilok working on new MBP with usb 3

my ilok is not being recognized when plugging in to the usb 3.0 port on the new MBP. Is there a new ilok that works with usb 3?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2012, 11:54 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,452
Default Re: ilok working on new MBP with usb 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevedresser83 View Post
my ilok is not being recognized when plugging in to the usb 3.0 port on the new MBP. Is there a new ilok that works with usb 3?
How about providing a little more info, start at the "Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!" link at the top of this page and provide more info as hinted at there, also what of the troubleshooting steps have you done?

And you installed the latest iLok driver?

Is it an iLok or iLok 2 (both should work)? Is it lit up solid blue? Blinking blue? OS X version? What exact model MBP? What shows up in the System Report>USB page?

Is the iLok known to work on other systems?

Unplug every other USB thing you can (including any interfaces) and reboot, is the iLok recognized then? Try all the USB 3 ports.

Do you have an USB 2 powered hub? Try plugging the iLok into that and connecting the hub to the USB 3 port, sometimes a useful diagnostic to try when USB2/USB3 things don't work.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2012, 07:14 AM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: ilok working on new MBP with usb 3

My iLok works fine on my MBP with USB3 ports. Make sure you have the latest drivers installed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2012, 09:57 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: ilok working on new MBP with usb 3

Given that usb is downward compatible, it should work. Check if you have the latest drivers/software for it.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2012, 03:18 PM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 495
Default Re: ilok working on new MBP with usb 3

I can verify that 2nd gen iLok works on rMBP without any problems using the laptop's built in USB3 port.
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 5.1, 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, HDX2, PT2019 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v9.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2019 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2012, 05:39 PM
serio serio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SWFLA
Posts: 384
Default Re: ilok working on new MBP with usb 3

iLok 2 working fine here on 2012 13" MBP 9,2 running 10.8.2 as well.
__________________
21.5" Mid-2011 iMac i5 QUAD 2.5GHZ 4G RAM ML 10.8.5--Pro Tools 10.3.9--Avid Mbox Pro / 003R--ICY DOCK MB664UEA-1S FW400 With: 500GB Samsung HD502HJ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2012, 07:26 AM
AnnexProjekt AnnexProjekt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles CA / Phoenix AZ
Posts: 46
Default Re: ilok working on new MBP with usb 3

My iLok works perfect on my MBPR.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2013, 02:45 AM
TheMattHadder TheMattHadder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 7
Default Re: ilok working on new MBP with usb 3

I have this problem as well, my iLok 2 works fine in any USB 2.0 hubs whether powered or unpowered with no hiccups. Any time plugging it directly into the MBP mid-2012 15" USB 3.0 ports I have to do this whole in/out song and dance to get PT 10 or 11 to recognize the iLok. Pace software can't even run repair function or transfer licenses to the iLok from those ports, even though it sometimes can recognize the iLok being present.

Literally none of my other USB peripherals have issues but the little blue glowing bastard.

PACE's solution: $30 ZDT coverage. Stupid
__________________
-Matt C

2012 15" MacBook Pro
• 2.6GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1GB GDDR5
• 16GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x8GB
• 500GB Samsung 840 series SSD boot drive
• 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm in optical bay
• OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
-------------------------------------------------------------
• Pro Tools 10.3.6/11.0.2 EDU w/ MBox 3
• Logic X
• Reaper
• NI Maschine MK1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2013, 09:41 PM
nichol88 nichol88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 2
Default Re: ilok working on new MBP with usb 3

Same thing here. Recognizes the iLok about 20% of the time. A SMC reset works, but only on the next time I plug it in. Can't Sync/Repair. All support told me was that mid-2012 MBP's have issues with USB 3.0 backward compatibility. I think it's BS. I can't even do remote recording right now because it's a toss-up if Pro Tools will even launch.

Mid-2012 Macbook Pro, OS 10.8.5. Pro Tools 10/11. All latest drivers are installed. There was even a time when it did successfully complete a Sync/Repair, but it didn't change anything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ilok Not working txrx Windows 11 05-30-2012 03:43 AM
MP3 on iLok, Not Working... Why? M2E Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-07-2009 12:03 PM
Strike 1.5 upgrade - not working because of iLok-working now gryphondale Virtual Instruments 0 01-27-2008 10:23 AM
ilok working? detroitkruk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-02-2005 08:24 AM
ilok driver not working on brand new ilok, help! joybeanstudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 05-30-2004 10:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com