Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2012, 01:16 AM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 273
Default Mixing Blue and Black interfaces?

Hi Guys,
Has anyone mixed old and new interfaces on a HDX rig?

Ive got a chance to pick up a blue 192 digital pretty cheap, and ld like to have the TDIF and AES option if needed, but not at the expense of a buggy system.

anyone with any experience?

thanks,
Sean
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2012, 05:58 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Mixing Blue and Black interfaces?

I do it on an HD rig in a Magma chassis. No reason it wouldn't work on HDX as it's the exact same protocol.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2012, 10:36 AM
phatbeatstudio phatbeatstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 566
Default Re: Mixing Blue and Black interfaces?

For the one month before we had to send them back for the hardware exchange I ran the HD , 192 , 96i/o. They functioned very well together. The HD sounded so much better that I sent one back for exchange and sold the other.
You shouldn't have any problem though lots of people are mixing Blue and new Black interfaces and I haven't read any threads saying they work anything less than great together.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2012, 06:52 PM
matrixed99 matrixed99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Upper Montclair, NJ
Posts: 8
Default Re: Mixing Blue and Black interfaces?

I've been able to mix HD and 192 interfaces, with one problem: The ADAT ports on the HD don't work. I have had an extensive, multi-day tech support call culminating with a return of the HD unit, which still didn't help. The 192 ADAT ports work fine, but not the HD ADAT ports. Hope you have better luck with the TDIF ports.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2012, 05:52 AM
nerdlinger nerdlinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: Mixing Blue and Black interfaces?

I've got one 16x16, one 8x8x8 and one 96i I/O working fine. My only issue was I couldn't get the 96i working if it was daisy chained through the other I/O's DigiLink Mini ports. It's connected directly to the second port on the HDX card.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11, HD Native and blue interfaces Justin1524 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 11 11-18-2013 11:32 PM
Blue interfaces with HDN and PT10/11? albee1952 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 10-03-2013 12:09 AM
Xmon blue or black - whats the difference? Jakob Clemen ICON & C|24 4 12-12-2012 06:20 AM
Black gives way to blue cover2 brad383music Eleven Rack 3 08-21-2012 12:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com