Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2012, 04:39 PM
heabow heabow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: france
Posts: 40
Default From Snow Leopard to Lion...

Hi

I'm currently working on an iMac OSX 10.6.8 with PT10. I bought PT LE 8, then upgraded to PT9 and to PT10.

I'm gonna buy a new computer soon and so I will have to install PT10 and my plugins into it.

My question is about how install PT10 as I only have CD for PT8?
Will Avid send me an installation kit by email or something?
Also, is PT10 fully compatible with OSX Lion?

Thanks to all!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2012, 05:20 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion...

Your PT installers should be in your Avid account if you didn't order the boxed versions.
And yes, PT 10 is officially Lion-compatible.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2012, 01:23 AM
drumzalicious drumzalicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 303
Default Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion...

If going from Mac to Mac you could just use the Migration Assistant application and it moves everything over for you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2012, 08:57 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion...

Migration assistant is not recommended for programs. It's fine for moving photos, documents, etc., but for programs and plugins he would be much better off installing fresh.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2012, 09:13 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Migration assistant is not recommended for programs. It's fine for moving photos, documents, etc., but for programs and plugins he would be much better off installing fresh.
+1 absolutely spot on. I tried migration assistant once, underwhelming experience. I find it's just cleaner to build a new system from the ground up.Like everything else in life, when you do it a second time, you usually do it better anyway.
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2012, 07:43 PM
djmoz djmoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Auckland
Posts: 69
Default Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Migration assistant is not recommended for programs. It's fine for moving photos, documents, etc., but for programs and plugins he would be much better off installing fresh.
I concur. I tried migrating when moving from PT7.3 on my G5 os10.4 to PT10 on a new mac mini with os 10.7 - FAIL.

I ended up using 2 logins - the migrated account from the G5 I use for everyday use apart from ProTools. Trying to use any non AAX plugins crashed PT every single time - very frustrating!

The account I set the mac mini up I keep as a ProTools optimized login and it works perfectly. A bit of a pain switching logins but it works.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2012, 01:30 AM
phatbeatstudio phatbeatstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 566
Default Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion...

Quote:
Originally Posted by heabow View Post
Hi

I'm currently working on an iMac OSX 10.6.8 with PT10. I bought PT LE 8, then upgraded to PT9 and to PT10.

I'm gonna buy a new computer soon and so I will have to install PT10 and my plugins into it.

My question is about how install PT10 as I only have CD for PT8?
Will Avid send me an installation kit by email or something?
Also, is PT10 fully compatible with OSX Lion?

Thanks to all!
Get a external drive to put all your programs in. It makes it much easier if you have to reinstall at a later date then you won't have to download everything again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2012, 06:00 AM
heabow heabow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: france
Posts: 40
Default Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion...

Thanks for the replies! Finally I have to buy my new iMac later this year but I keep the advices in mind.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2012, 09:40 AM
phatbeatstudio phatbeatstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 566
Default Re: From Snow Leopard to Lion...

Quote:
Originally Posted by heabow View Post
Hi

I'm currently working on an iMac OSX 10.6.8 with PT10. I bought PT LE 8, then upgraded to PT9 and to PT10.

I'm gonna buy a new computer soon and so I will have to install PT10 and my plugins into it.

My question is about how install PT10 as I only have CD for PT8?
Will Avid send me an installation kit by email or something?
Also, is PT10 fully compatible with OSX Lion?

Thanks to all!
Yes it is fully compatible.
My suggestion is don't go lion if you don't have to . Snow Leopard worked better for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
snow leopard or lion for PT 10.3.7 queemacarthur macOS 3 11-04-2013 10:12 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 11:55 AM
Snow Leopard to Lion stevegalante General Discussion 7 09-25-2012 07:14 AM
Snow Leopard or Lion with PT10.2 HD Lizardpoint Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-17-2012 07:48 PM
PT HD 10: Snow Leopard or Lion? johnnyv Pro Tools 10 2 01-31-2012 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com