Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2011, 04:32 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default monitor display

thinking about getting a new video monitor for PT use

i have a 22 apple cinema

can't find a 30...a few on ebay

what are my best options for a really nice 27" to 32" display?

i'm running a G5 w tiger and 7.4 and still loving it
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2011, 05:00 PM
bonfi64 bonfi64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milan italy
Posts: 148
Default Re: monitor display

my suggestion is to get a second 24 inch apple cinema display
don't go for the 30 inch, it will be a lot harder for the graphic card of the mac
and also is better to have two monitor same size, for many reasons
i have two 24 inch apple cinema display, i found the second two month ago for second hand, about 350 dollars, the quality is unbeatable.
the 30 inch is very nice, good only if you do video editing, for audio is too much i think
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2011, 05:39 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: monitor display

for side by side same size is better but if you are wanting something for picture to edit/mix to then I would look at the 28"~32" 1080p LED monitors
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2011, 06:56 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: monitor display

thanks for comments.

i'm still considering a 30

i have a line on one

for a decent price

who here has a 30 that loves editing and mixing PT audio on it?

how do you like it?
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2011, 07:21 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,170
Default Re: monitor display

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post
thanks for comments.

i'm still considering a 30

i have a line on one

for a decent price

who here has a 30 that loves editing and mixing PT audio on it?

how do you like it?
I use a 30" Jimmy and love it. Have had it for a while. I like it because I have a 5.1 of Genelec 1032A's in the room for mixes and a center monitor gets in the way for me. I just put the 30" on an arm and it works great and can move it out of the way more when I really get into the mix finals. It's to the left side of the room, but with iPad apps that can run the Protools session from anywhere I don't really need to be in front of it except for editing.
Bob Hodas was here tuning the rooms earlier in the year and suggested that I avoid putting to much in the middle of my room since the speakers I have are on stands in the front. I suppose it's personal preference and if I was not doing Center CH audio, it would not be a problem.

Good luck, G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.10 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2011, 09:41 AM
Anibal Anibal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A. CA. USA
Posts: 545
Default Re: monitor display

go for the 30"... I had 2 x 23" for the longest time, the 30" concentrates everything in the middle and has plenty of real estate for mixing and editing.
__________________
PT 2018 HDX 1
Mac Pro Westmere 12 core 3.46 OSX 10.12.5
64 gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2011, 09:21 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: monitor display

the $399 price of a new samsung with warranty is appealing

but i have options over a couple of 30" used apples for around a grand each

it's hard to get the apple out of my mind

who has the samsung and loves it....27" big enough for ya?
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2011, 11:52 AM
Bentley Ferrari Bentley Ferrari is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 440
Default Re: monitor display

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post

but i have options over a couple of 30" used apples for around a grand each


OK, bro': time to hop into a cold shower, call a friend, get out the smelling salts, knock yourself out, do whatever!....

Apple's monitors are made by companies like Samsung anyway. Buy the Samsung. Put an Apple decal on it. Save $1600.00.

By the way, good to see you back on the DUC.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-07-2011, 06:44 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: monitor display

i deserve better than the samsung.

i bought the 30" Apple

love it

it's overwhelming

but so am i.

i have to figure out how to set it up ergonomically...all in time
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2011, 05:11 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: monitor display

I've bought a 27" Samsung years ago, and i've return it.

It make some high noise freq, it was making me crazy!!

They accept the return because all the 27" monitors have that problem.

In a quite room, is your worst nightmare.

Just my 2 cents,

I've trade for 2 x LG 24" (1900x1200)

Regards
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tv monitor & pt display? weezamiah Tips & Tricks 9 01-22-2014 09:14 AM
Display Monitor shady656 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-05-2004 08:06 PM
Dual Monitor Display Logan M 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 04-03-2003 09:07 PM
Anyone using a plasma display as 2nd monitor putney2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 07-17-2002 06:33 AM
display monitor near 888/24 legativity Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-13-2001 05:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com