Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2011, 01:55 AM
Siddhant Bhatia Siddhant Bhatia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: India
Posts: 69
Angry ADC and AUX TRACK - BIG PROBLEM



Things are not getting sorted here ... Now there's a new issue that I have faced. Just started mixing a project today and I need to bring in my outboard gear.

So I have one Audio Track and One Aux Track ... Audio Send to Hardware 3-4, and Input of Aux is Hardware 3-4. Both go out of Stereo Monitor. This is the most simple send-return config. in any mix session.

A Delay is being reported - 56 samples (512 samples buffer) ... But when you actually hear what's going out and coming back in ... there is a MEGA latency ... 1176 samples (when I printed the output to an audio track, I found the latency figure) ....

So ... basically we NATIVE USERS can never use outboard gear? Because the right latency is NOT being reported ... and if we try manually entering the latency ... it STILL doesnt work right ...

Any ideas on workarounds? This is a VERY SERIOUS problem .... We can never create a SAMPLE PERFECT Aux Track ...... WOW!



Pro Tools 9.0.2
HD Native, HD Omni, HD 16x16 analog
10.6.7 Mac OS X
2 x 2.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon
6 GB memory
System Boots in 32-Bit
14 Cores being used, currently
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2011, 07:03 AM
Jack Ruston UK Jack Ruston UK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 113
Default Re: ADC and AUX TRACK - BIG PROBLEM

The problem here is that PT has no way of knowing that you're routing the same audio out of one output and into another. Try using a hardware insert instead. So route via a bus from the audio track to the aux. Stick the hardware insert on the aux. It will then be properly compensated and your total latency will go up depending on your interface, sample rate and buffer size.

Jack
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2011, 09:33 AM
brickroadstudio brickroadstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 235
Default Re: ADC and AUX TRACK - BIG PROBLEM

This was the same with TDM.
You also need to be sure the hardware is on parallel ins and outs which it seems like it is in this case.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem bussing audio from one track to another audio track harryk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 08-04-2010 01:15 PM
Track 1 & 3 problem ntime 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-02-2009 05:56 AM
Problem Converting Instrument Track to Audio Track Gorbies 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-02-2009 10:11 PM
can't pan track problem ? jackp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-22-2008 10:34 PM
Problem With Last Track elik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-14-2002 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com