Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2010, 05:35 PM
poly915 poly915 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 158
Default PT9 Import Session Data crash

42 hours of editing on ProTools 9 and thus far, I've only found 1 semi-repeatable, crash inducing bug;
When using the Import Session Data feature, often ProTools will quit before the completion of the "Updating I/O Setup" stage.

Is anyone else seeing this?

P

MacPro
10.6.4
PTHD 9.0.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2010, 05:44 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,634
Default Re: PT9 Import Session Data crash

Does the problem occur if you import to a brand new Pro Tools 9 session? Is there a particular track import that causes the crash (import track by track to see if you can narrow down the track that's crashing it.)?

If there is a specific track - what's on the track as far as plug-ins and routing goes?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2010, 06:20 PM
poly915 poly915 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 158
Default Re: PT9 Import Session Data crash

At first I thought it was a specific track because my workflow has been repetitive and I've been importing the same track from master sessions into slave sessions, but now I see it will happen on different tracks as well.
The crash occurs whether importing to a pre-existing template session or a brand new PT9 empty session.
The crash never occurs if it's the first ISD since I've booted and I can usually get one or two separate ISD's completed. The third or fourth will crash. Please see crash-point of third ISD attempt screen grab here.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2010, 06:31 PM
poly915 poly915 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 158
Default Re: PT9 Import Session Data crash

Oh, also;
If I try to run PT9 immediately after the crash (without a reboot), I get a kernel panic on my MacPro.

yay :\
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2010, 10:39 PM
PMoshay PMoshay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: NY
Posts: 621
Default Re: PT9 Import Session Data crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by poly915 View Post
42 hours of editing on ProTools 9 and thus far, I've only found 1 semi-repeatable, crash inducing bug;
When using the Import Session Data feature, often ProTools will quit before the completion of the "Updating I/O Setup" stage.

Is anyone else seeing this?

P

MacPro
10.6.4
PTHD 9.0.0
Yes, i have had this same problem all day today
__________________
www.PeterMoshay.com
www.LiveFromDarylsHouse.com
Check out new shows on the web each month on the 15th.
Always commercial free, watch on Mac/PC, mobile & tablets.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2010, 10:27 PM
Huge75 Huge75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT9 Import Session Data crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by poly915 View Post
42 hours of editing on ProTools 9 and thus far, I've only found 1 semi-repeatable, crash inducing bug;
When using the Import Session Data feature, often ProTools will quit before the completion of the "Updating I/O Setup" stage.

Is anyone else seeing this?

P

MacPro
10.6.4
PTHD 9.0.0
I had a similar problem but on PT8. i resolved it by importing the IO setup from the session i was importing the tracks from.

hope that helps
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2010, 07:57 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: PT9 Import Session Data crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Does the problem occur if you import to a brand new Pro Tools 9 session? Is there a particular track import that causes the crash (import track by track to see if you can narrow down the track that's crashing it.)?

If there is a specific track - what's on the track as far as plug-ins and routing goes?
User DUC betas are going to have to bill AVID $249 per instance on this and other issues that arise. I can handle this money for you guys for a handling fee of course.

Sounds to me like for now you can save some time and grief by doing the obvious and you truly want to not disturb your current I/O set up

save (and might be a good time to change the name of the session first), close your session, then open up the desired session to imported from...rename it "title_IMP" or something like that and then quickly eliminate the I/O in one fell swoop from.... say all the tracks quickly by using option click remove on any one track. Close that session and reopen your session and import away with no I/O confusion to your "early release" software. At least you'll accomplish your task until AVID figures it out on their dime. They should have quite a few dimes right now shouldn't they?

If it is still crashing-- then point to the plug-ins i reckon.

Good luck.
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-2010, 02:37 PM
poly915 poly915 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 158
Default Re: PT9 Import Session Data crash

At this point, I'll stick to rebooting the whole system previous to using ISD.... It takes just a few seconds longer, but uses less brain cells.

I look forward to the day that this reproducible bug is squashed. (cs1?)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2010, 01:16 PM
poly915 poly915 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 158
Default Re: PT9 Import Session Data crash

I was wrong and studiojimi is right; you must remove the I/O set up of the session file you are going to ISD from. The reboot will not always work.
BTW- this is much more than inconvenient for those of us who are using ISD across a network.



Back to 8.0.4 for me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2010, 05:00 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,634
Default Re: PT9 Import Session Data crash

I've been able to reproduce this and have it logged for a fix.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9.0.1 doesn't fix the Import Session Data crash poly915 macOS 4 01-07-2011 02:53 PM
Session Data import function from 8.0.4 to 9.0.0 leads to a PT crash Franco1967 Pro Tools 9 27 11-27-2010 04:31 AM
New bug? Import Session Data - Crash - Missing Video Ryan Young Pro Tools 9 0 11-15-2010 01:33 PM
Import session data causing crash in 8.1 jval Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-19-2010 11:57 PM
7.4 repeatable import session data crash fman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-23-2007 12:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com