Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2010, 06:18 PM
chazc080488 chazc080488 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91
Default Are these pc components ok?

I want to upgrade to a intel base set-up. I'm going to be using vista home premium 32 bit. I already have a internal and external hard drive 7200 rpm.
Is this pc build okay?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130390

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151096

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835608014

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.459955
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2010, 06:28 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,672
Default Re: Are these pc components ok?

If you MUST stick with Vista 32 bit, i would get a 256 or 512MB video card.

But if you are going to build a nice i7 system, why not spend the extra $100 and get Windows 7 64 bit?

Also, even though you may have 7200 RPM drives, this board you listed has SATA III 6Gb/sec ports. So i would add 2 or more Western Digital Caviar Black SATA III 6Gb/sec 64MB cache drives.

I personally would go with a Corsair PSU at least 650 watts and even higher.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2010, 06:29 PM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default Re: Are these pc components ok?

Since you're using 32 bit, if you drop your vid card to 512MB thats ~512MB extra memory availble to Pro Tools.
Mike.
__________________
This might qualify for "the best worded, but most idiotic thing I've ever heard said" award.-ejwells

Avid Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.3. Win7x64Sp1. i7-930 X58A-UD3R. Acronis backup. Black Viper optimized.
Google the DUC
Search Avid

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2010, 06:32 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,988
Default Re: Are these pc components ok?

I would consider choosing a system a little closer to the proven ones listed on the i7 sticky at the top of this forum.

I would consider XP if you are going to run in a 32-bit system.

I would consider a smaller video card if you are running in a 32 bit system.

And I would consider using the /3GB switch.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:29 PM
chazc080488 chazc080488 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Are these pc components ok?

Forgive me for my ignorance about computers but why do I need two more internal drives and what is a /3Gb switch. And is jumping to windows 7 64-bit going to help that much?

And are these video cards and power supply okay?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130419

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151091
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:32 PM
chazc080488 chazc080488 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Are these pc components ok?

Actually I have a nvidia 7600gt card on my current pc I was thinking of using that?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2010, 09:55 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: Are these pc components ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chazc080488 View Post
Forgive me for my ignorance about computers but why do I need two more internal drives and what is a /3Gb switch. And is jumping to windows 7 64-bit going to help that much?

And are these video cards and power supply okay?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130419

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151091
You need 2 hard drives so that you can record to one drive, while the other(OS) drive is free to deal with the basic operating. Think of the OS drive as the traffic cop, telling the audio and Pro Tools where to go, when to go, etc. Pro Tools is very specific that a separate recording drive is REQUIRED for any level of performance. If all you want to do is 4 tracks and a handful of plugins, then break the rules and record to your system drive(but don't complain when it crashes or freezes and throws up error messages). The 3gb switch allows Pro Tools to access more RAM, so assuming you have 4gb of RAM and a 32 bit OS, it gives better performance. Win7 64 bit gave me a tremendous boost in performance(Dverb test went from 320 to 520)and does not need the switch. The old video card(assuming its a PCIe) would likely work fine. I run an MSI GeForce 7300LE without issues. I have never heard of that PSU brand and would stick with the big names like Corsair, Thermaltake or Antec(just an opinion).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2010, 10:25 PM
chazc080488 chazc080488 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Are these pc components ok?

Oh ok I have a extrenal drive that I record to now. Its firewire with the whole oxford 911 chipset...and it's been working great with 7.4 and Ill be getting this psu

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139005
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2010, 08:39 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: Are these pc components ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chazc080488 View Post
Oh ok I have a extrenal drive that I record to now. Its firewire with the whole oxford 911 chipset...and it's been working great with 7.4 and Ill be getting this psu

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139005
That PSU looks dandy. Good that you have an approved firewire drive. Just remember that you can actually get better performance with a second internal SATA drive(I only use my firewire drives for backup and transport).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:48 AM
chazc080488 chazc080488 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Are these pc components ok?

Okay I'll get one of those internal sata drives also. Thanks alot!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help with HD components FMR_Crisis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-17-2010 06:07 PM
Will these PC components do the job hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-06-2007 09:22 PM
SP1 w/ SP2 components gpgarner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-29-2004 05:08 PM
components rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-19-2001 10:32 AM
Help, need to identify components barriault General Discussion 5 09-09-2001 09:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com