Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2009, 07:07 AM
Jonathanginese Jonathanginese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Default Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

Hello everyone... Its been awhile since i've been back on the DUC (so long that I've forgotten my password)...

Anyways, Heres what I'm trying to do.

Live Recording.. 16 tracks at a time, for bands at there concerts or practice spaces.

I have a Digi002r + ADA8000 Berhinger... So i can record 16 tracks at a time.
I'm a little hesitant to use Pro tools to start recordings Live music for a 2hr + period of time... but I'm sure that i can tune it to make it pretty sold.

My question is to the people that have used multiple DAWs and hopefully have tried to do what I'm attempting.
---------------------------------
I can either use Cubase SX 3 or Protools LE 8.

Cubase SX will be used for tracking only and then import the .wav files into Protools for edit and Mix.

Or

I'll just tune my system so that Protools can handle it.
---------------------------------

In the past I've had my system tuned so that i could record 16 tracks for about 5+ hours with no session stops.. but i had to re install and now i have to go through that whole process of tuning again.. which is what i want to avoid. Even though i had the system tuned that well i was always nervous that it would stop session because PT(atleast for me) always seemed to have a mind of its own..

Also, if there is another program that you recommend for JUST tracking that is rock solid and can compensate for any hick-ups in the system please let me know.

Thanks

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2009, 09:08 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

My two cents worth....record it and mix it in Pro Tools. I can't think of a reason to start it on one platform and finish it on another. Last two Christmases, we recorded EVERY one-hour show at the "world famous Flying W Ranch" ON A FAIRLY old PT rig, and got EVERY single show, sometimes twice a night, for two straight weeks without a glitch.
This without stopping between songs or anything, just set it up & let 'er roll. (Incidentally, we had pretty much the same hardware setup you're using, just an 003r instead of an 002r.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2009, 11:22 AM
Jonathanginese Jonathanginese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

Hmm... ok.. yeah my system is from the old recommended build about 3 or 4 years ago.. so I'm working with what i have. I guess i just need to bite the bullet and start my testing. The buffer errors is what I' worried about.. at the moment its weird.. I'll try to record at 1024 buffer @ 48/24 and it will tell me to lower the buffer.. wtf? so i set it at 256 or 512 and it works fine.. then it messes up and it tells me to raise the buffer .. so i put it back up to 1024... and repeat. its pretty frustrating. Any ideas for as to were I should start testing?.. I have the SIIG firewire card from back in the day that was recommended motherboard and everything. but i still have problems.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2009, 11:32 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

I eliminated the buffer errors on my smaller (Mbox) system by setting up the page file.
Control Panel/system/advanced/performance/settings/advanced/virtual memory. I set mine for twice the amount of installed ram.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2009, 11:38 AM
Jonathanginese Jonathanginese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

hmm... didn't think about trying that...

I've got 2gb ram though do you still think that would make a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2009, 11:49 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

Did on mine......
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2009, 12:28 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,910
Default Re: Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

In case you did not think of this, for live recording, don't use any plugins and set the buffer to 1024. This will offer the lowest system drain.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2009, 02:41 PM
AndyJCP AndyJCP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 313
Default Re: Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

Live tracking a few hours with PT LE 7.4 and 8 worked quite well, both with my not-so-new laptop (2 tracks) and my newer-but-not-state-of-the-art desktop (8 tracks).
Never did 16 tracks though.
Btw, can you recommend the Behringer ada8000 for a cheap expansion? Does it work well with the 002?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2009, 02:51 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

With ANY audio software, having a well-tuned computer is going to make a difference. I record large track counts live all the time direct to Pro Tools, although be it Pro Tools HD. In fact, this weekend I'm not only multi-tracking a major concert here in Fort Wayne, IN via Pro Tools HD---I'm also mixing the live TV broadcast through it as well.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-22-2009, 03:04 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Live Tracking... Whats your Opinion

Re: Behringer, yes, it worked flawlessly with the Flying W 002 rig.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware vs Software whats your opinion! carnology 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-18-2005 06:01 PM
Whats your opinion, tascam m-3500 AEXXL Tips & Tricks 3 03-19-2003 12:57 AM
Whats your opinion on this? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-01-2003 05:06 PM
Digi 02 or 01 w/Control Surface, whats your opinion? J Blazin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 12-27-2002 04:01 PM
In your honest opinion, Whats the best piano... Opal Music General Discussion 22 12-02-2002 04:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com