Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:08 AM
Surfergirl Surfergirl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default Intel Core 2 Quad processor compatility

Can anyone tell me if Pro Tools is compatible with Intel Core 2 Quad processors ? Ive been told it should work just as well if not better than a Dual Core but anyone know a definitive?
Thanks
SG
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:16 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Intel Core 2 Quad processor compatility

Quote:
Can anyone tell me if Pro Tools is compatible with Intel Core 2 Quad processors ?
Yes, lots of people here can give you that answer. (sorry to be a smart-ass, but hey; you asked )
Quote:
Ive been told it should work just as well if not better than a Dual Core but anyone know a definitive?
There are literally hundreds of people here who can attest to the fact that the quads work much better than the duos.

We even have a whole separate thread discussing it, including benchmarks between the two, and recommendations for the best parts (that have been tested to work well with Pro Tools).
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:18 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Intel Core 2 Quad processor compatility

Its working great!

The Quads have not been approved by Digi yet though so its a "non qualified" system and you are not going to get and tech support from Digi.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2008, 10:41 AM
xodiac xodiac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 91
Default Re: Intel Core 2 Quad processor compatility

Quote:
The Quads have not been approved by Digi yet though so its a "non qualified" system and you are not going to get and tech support from Digi.
sorry, but i just had to chime in here. theres a chickens%#t american corporate attitude. they tell their phonetech's NOT to support a piece of hardware that brazenly excels, and exceeds the former "tested and approved" model, despite the fact numerous people have them up and running. way-to-go! i did not know this! so if a person has ALL Digi Approved hardware and software recommendations running, with one exception being an INTEL Q-Series CPU, then all bets are off? amazing! glad im computer literate enough NOT to have to ever call them before, cuz hearing them tell me something like that would have made me livid.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2008, 11:31 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Intel Core 2 Quad processor compatility

Quote:
Quote:
The Quads have not been approved by Digi yet though so its a "non qualified" system and you are not going to get and tech support from Digi.
sorry, but i just had to chime in here. theres a chickens%#t american corporate attitude. they tell their phonetech's NOT to support a piece of hardware that brazenly excels, and exceeds the former "tested and approved" model, despite the fact numerous people have them up and running. way-to-go! i did not know this! so if a person has ALL Digi Approved hardware and software recommendations running, with one exception being an INTEL Q-Series CPU, then all bets are off? amazing! glad im computer literate enough NOT to have to ever call them before, cuz hearing them tell me something like that would have made me livid.
Well thats my understanding. Since the Q series Quad is essentially 2 Core 2 Duos under the same heat spreader it would be nice if they looked at as a Core 2 Duo system and helped as much as they could rather than sending some one packing.

Of course they cant be spending a bunch of time troubleshooting unsupported stuff either.

Its not a new architecture and required no PT updates to run.

Hopefully at some point we will get some official approval.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2008, 11:34 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,800
Default Re: Intel Core 2 Quad processor compatility

Well if another company's product (Intel Core 2 Quad) is not fully tested yet (therefore not approved yet) by Digidesign, what kind of support can they promise? They are simply stating that they have not had the time and resources to complete the testing and certification process. My experience with Digidesign is that they are always trying to be helpful. If I decide to try a new (even a much better performing component) and my Protools system doesn't work properly, I think it is fair to say that the tech support from Digidesign would be limited concerning that component. Don't get me wrong, I don't give Digidesign an excuse to not provide any support for this. I simply think that as customers, there is a certain amount of reasonable expectation that they can only effectively support what they have tested and approved.

Is this just an "American" thing?
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.14.6 running Protools 2019.10.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 08:33 AM
Dell 518 with Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q6600? Bill0287 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 09-24-2008 01:45 PM
Quad Core processor shobud 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-15-2008 06:57 PM
INTEL QUAD PROCESSOR COMPATIBILTY WITH MBOX Rups 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-01-2007 02:40 PM
XPS 410, Intel Core 2 Quad Core Processor Q6600 mzampi1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-14-2007 05:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com