Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2008, 12:40 AM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Soundminer or others??

Is this the only sound FX database program that let's you access an IP address
for your database(s)?
If there are others, let me know. Snapper looks pretty sweet, but no mention
of IP address use.

Thanks
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2008, 02:25 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,429
Default Re: Soundminer or others??

What do you mean by "IP-address use"?

As soon as you mount a network-volume on your machine via AFS, SMB or other method ANY programm can access the data. It´s like having a fw-drive connected.

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2008, 02:25 AM
Kuba Pietrzak Kuba Pietrzak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Warszawa, Poland
Posts: 400
Default Re: Soundminer or others??

mTools from Gallery

Kuba
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2008, 01:36 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Soundminer or others??


As soon as you mount a network-volume on your machine via AFS, SMB or other method ANY programm can access the data. It´s like having a fw-drive connected.

frank.

[/QUOTE]

That's what I meant, yes
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2008, 01:38 PM
bryston bryston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Boston,MA 02215
Posts: 117
Default Re: Soundminer or others??

I use the SM web server. It works well and my clients
love it. It also tracks all downloads by user etc..
we even use it in house as not everyone needs the full
blown app.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2008, 03:44 PM
citysoundman citysoundman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 551
Default Re: Soundminer or others??

I mix at a network that uses Creative Network Design's Net Mix. There is a server version of Net Mix. It's a great program.
__________________
Bob Kirschner
Chief Engineer
Creative Media Design, NYC
http://cmdnyc.com
bob@cmdnyc.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soundminer or?? soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-27-2015 08:24 AM
Soundminer XP stealth Post - Surround - Video 1 08-11-2008 06:49 PM
Soundminer on XP? philper Post - Surround - Video 7 11-07-2006 08:11 PM
SoundMiner for PC? MGagnon General Discussion 2 09-01-2003 10:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com