Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:20 AM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
I've always wished that PT would allow you to install the feature set that you need. It might cut down on Ram overhead, and streamline the program for those that don't need certain features. Why have all those midi functions if you're not using midi.

I also thought it funny that DogBBQ would like to have a "piece of mind" as opposed to Peace Of Mind.
You know, you can never have too many pieces.
Wow what a great idea I'd like to leave a lot out and just use a Basic Set-up

Funny sometimes after long sessions it feels like I need to pick up all the pieces of my brain!!!!
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:21 AM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
Furthermore, I think it would be a safe bet that having PT load specific feature sets for specific users would most likely be a testing and stability nightmare. Every time the Mac OS would be updated, it might take years before PT would be ready to make the move.

Seriously, I think PT could be most improved if it were specifically coded natively for the Mac (and a separate version for PC), rather than one set of code ported to Mac and PC. Stability, performance and latency on the Mac would also be greatly enhanced if PT took advantage of OSX's kernel level Core Audio and Core MIDI. Apple put an enormous amount of effort into developing OSX to optimize audio and MIDI performance, and PT simply does not use it. It's an unfortunate situation. That's why challenging plug-ins (like NI's, and VSL's [which is not even released for PT]) work like a hot knife going through butter on DAW applications that support AU plug-ins, but leave PT gasping for breath on the side of the road.

PT has a great UI that's ideal for the way a lot of people work. It could definitely use a lot of work under the hood, though. It will be very interesting to see what the future holds (for PT, as well as all the other major DAW applications out there). It will be interesting to see if there will be a high-end native PT solution in the future, or if the next generation of high-end PT systems will still require rather costly hardware. Things will be interesting.

I also wonder if there will ever come a time when there will be a barrier to importing older PT sessions into the newest version of PT. Keeping backward compatibility has got to be a major strain that holds back development. At some point, one would think it would make sense to start with a fresh, blank sheet of paper and design a new system. As it is, backward compatibility of old sessions is usually quite compromised (since there are a lot of plug-ins that have fallen by the wayside, or simply not present in the system you're currently using). If you need access to things at a later date, better just keep a vintage system operating, or make sure to always bounce out a lot of stems.
Virtual Instruments gain so much from Core Audio and Midi why isn't this embraced by Digidesign???

I'd be happy to loose Backwards compatibility for Stability!!!!

A ground up Build would be the best and think that Digi needs to take it's Native version over the top!!!!
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:21 AM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
i'd like to wish you much luck in your career in music.
Well that makes as much sense as my "Piece Of Mind" statement!!!!!!

I guess the walls will come tumbling down around me because I don't like the way Protools performs????
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:47 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
Quote:
ProTools didn't even become viable for me til 6.4 (delay comp). Prior to that I was using it as editor but that was it.
I made plenty Mixing from version 4.3 on too bad you had to wait!!!!
wow, so you either did all the manual delay comp or you like phasey, comb filtered sound? Either way, not viable in my world.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:00 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

While everyone makes valid points about all the functional improvements that Digidesign has made to Pro tools over the years...

version 5.1 was killer. It was so stable. It just worked so well. Pro Tools 7 can't touch it.

I've been using PT since version 3, and 5.1 in my mind was the golden age. Today, it tries to do way too many things, and does all of them not quite as well. Sure, there are essential features that have been added, but at a far greater cost to stability and overall workflow. I have never been so frustrated in the studio since I upgraded my Pro Tools machine to OS X.

I am a power user, and I don't cut any corners with my setup. But Pro Tools has accumulated so many studio hours of downtime, it's hard to imagine the days when it worked great.

By the way, I would just like to remind Digidesign one more time, that their pathetic release of their home-brewed crash-prone 6 slot expansion chassis nearly 2 years ago cost them a 32 ch Icon sale.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-31-2007, 07:26 AM
SOL-Music SOL-Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:

version 5.1 was killer. It was so stable. It just worked so well. Pro Tools 7 can't touch it.

Amen.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-31-2007, 09:44 AM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
wow, so you either did all the manual delay comp or you like phasey, comb filtered sound? Either way, not viable in my world.
Yes in deed, and still do all compensation myself I've grown not to trust Protools with anything

If I do it I know it's right!!!

I don't even trust Digi's Click so I print the click quantize the regions to the grid and reference all to that!!!!
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-31-2007, 10:12 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Quote:
I don't even trust Digi's Click so I print the click quantize the regions to the grid and reference all to that!!!!
but can you really trust the grid? it's made by Digi ya know.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-31-2007, 10:38 AM
drenkrom drenkrom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Quebec
Posts: 393
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

erm... i missed the part where someone held a gun to our heads and ordered us to us Pro Tools. There are many other DAWs out there and if they suit your needs better, by all means, switch over. PT is not ideal for everything and I go to other programs often to use their strong points. Then those programs also have niggles that bug me. Getting the right hammer at the store is way more effective than writing up the hammer company asking for a 5 degree shift in the vertical head alignment because your wrist is twisted from a bike accident you had at the age of 7. And please mass-produce it to impose it on all the happy customers. That's just silly.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-31-2007, 12:03 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels

Just wish they would get the MIDI to work correctly.

Hail v5.1 OS9!!!
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Bells SFX Library sepulchra Post - Surround - Video 6 05-16-2011 02:51 AM
Wedding bells spidey01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-03-2010 09:47 AM
church bells? stevesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-23-2006 05:10 AM
Recording Church Bells superpenguin79 General Discussion 28 01-25-2006 05:54 PM
Looking for bells, glockenspiels... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-12-2004 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com