Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2007, 04:00 PM
singerpainter singerpainter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 34
Default Contacted Tech Support, still no response

Hi everyone, I need some insight on how to deal with my issue.

I contacted Tech Support via the mailform on the support section of the site, and waited the obligatory 3 days. No response. Since it's been 6 days with no response, hopefully someone --maybe even a tech support person viewing this on the DUC-- might be able to point me in the right direction.

Here is what I wrote:

Audio Card: Digi 002 Rack
Audio Interface: Digi 002 Rack
Miscellaneous:
Digidesign Software: Pro Tools LE
Version: 7.1
Computer Model and Speed: Sweetwater Creation Station PC P4 3.2Ghz
RAM: 2 Gigs
Operating System: Windows XP
DAE version:
DigiSystem

Other Digidesign and third party products used in the system:
all the bundles that came with PT.
I also have UAD-1 Card, and Waves pack.

Please give a concise description of the problem:
A couple of years ago when I bought and registered my Digi 002 rack, I began experiencing an issue where the sample rate light would blink (when booting up the machine), and the Digi 002r would make this quiet clicking sound. Pro Tools would not be able to connect with the rack.
It's an intermittent problem and sometimes PT is able to connect, but then most transport functions (record, play) execute very poorly. It's like it doesn't receive the request to "play" or "record."

The Tech person I spoke with determined it was a hardware problem and sent me a kit so I could self-fix. If I remember correctly, it took about 15 minutes to install, you had specific printed instructions (with pics), and it kind of looked like one of those tape like cables that computers connect say, hard drives to motherboards or something.

Well, based on all symptoms, it appears the problem is happening again.

Actions required to reproduce the problem:
Shut down computer. Turn off Digi 002. Turn Digi 002 back on, re-boot computer.

Troubleshooting already attempted:
I don't know if there's much I can do since it sounds like a hardware issue.

So, what should I do? I don't want to spend $75 on a phone call for them to tell me the same thing and just mail me the same kit. Could it be something else? I'm now down for the count and would love some insight.

Thanks so much,
Chance
__________________
mynameischance.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2007, 04:09 PM
WilliamDC WilliamDC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 297
Default Re: Contacted Tech Support, still no response

Other than calling Digi to get another power harness, you can try opening up your 002r and reseat the power harness that's in there. That fixes it for some folks. It certainly sounds like a power harness issue again, though.
__________________
William
002R - 2ghz Intel Core 2 duo Imac - 3GB of RAM
OSX 10.6.7 - PT LE 8.0.5
http://www.pureshift.com
http://www.bsodmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2007, 05:32 PM
singerpainter singerpainter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 34
Default Re: Contacted Tech Support, still no response

Yes! You're right; that's what it's called: Power Harness. I remember now.

Well, I guess I shall try first with your idea.

In the event that it doesn't work, and I have to get another one, is there some kind of method I can get this without having to waste my time calling them? Does anyone have any ideas how to get them to more quickly reply to support requests? 6 days is a bit, oh, shall we just say "lax."

Thanks, William. Will let you know if it works.
__________________
mynameischance.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2007, 05:55 PM
WilliamDC WilliamDC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 297
Default Re: Contacted Tech Support, still no response

Quote:
Yes! You're right; that's what it's called: Power Harness. I remember now.

Well, I guess I shall try first with your idea.

In the event that it doesn't work, and I have to get another one, is there some kind of method I can get this without having to waste my time calling them? Does anyone have any ideas how to get them to more quickly reply to support requests? 6 days is a bit, oh, shall we just say "lax."

Thanks, William. Will let you know if it works.
For something like a power harness, you're better off calling them.
__________________
William
002R - 2ghz Intel Core 2 duo Imac - 3GB of RAM
OSX 10.6.7 - PT LE 8.0.5
http://www.pureshift.com
http://www.bsodmusic.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No response from Avid support bongojazz General Discussion 7 02-16-2011 11:27 PM
New tech support tools - Tech Support Folder DigiTechSupt Technical Alerts 0 08-07-2007 09:13 AM
Tech support: Where Are You? stephentrask 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 05-24-2005 08:20 PM
PT tech support.... where02190 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-09-2003 10:50 AM
Tech Support Please Help!!! hgrecordin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-30-2001 10:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com