Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2005, 12:52 PM
Earfatigue Earfatigue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 57
Default Tape Drift

I have an Mbox. Therefore, 2 in, 2 out.

Recently, a friend asked if I could transfer tracks from his reel-to-reel 8 track to Pro Tools.

Naturally, since I can only do 2 tracks at a time, there will be tape drift between tracks.

What's the best way to deal with this? Any tips on correcting drift between tracks?
__________________
Mac Intel Core 2 Duo
2.33 GHZ
2 GB RAM
Snow Leopard
ProTools 9.0.6
Digirack 003
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2005, 02:11 PM
Naagzh Naagzh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: Tape Drift

Here's some ideas:

1. Record some transients on all 8 tracks (hand claps, snare drum, whatever). Record the transients at the beginning of the tape, in between songs (if possible), and at the end of the tape. Use these to nudge the tracks after importing them.

2. Borrow a friend's 001 or 002 for a few hours, make some AIFF files (8 tracks all at once), and then create a session with your mBox and import the audio.

Is there a click track on the tape? If so, you could use the track with the click to line things up. Unless this partcular 8-track tape machine is VERY NICE, I think it'll sound warbly no matter what you do, if you're only recording two tracks at a time.

If, however, two tracks is your only option, then make sure the room you're in is VERY stable, and don't move a muscle.
__________________
002R PT7.3.1
MacBook Pro 2.33
OS 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:43 PM
Rabidium Rabidium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 763
Default Re: Tape Drift

I wouldn't bother doing it two at a time, it'll take four times as long just to record, and you can spend days timestretching and editing it to fit together nicely. Just go rent a room for an hour. You can probably find someone who'll do it after-hours (well, ok, before-hours) on a 002 (with better sound quality) for the price of a six-pack. Or maybe just the six-pack itself!
Try posting on Craigslist in your city.
-Olaf
__________________
I guess I'm back.
www.byOlaf.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tape Emulation - Using Tape Delay to shape tone derker Eleven Rack 15 04-13-2011 10:10 AM
LA Drift... Pred80r Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-30-2011 11:08 AM
Elastic drift? blastula Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-19-2011 07:50 PM
Reel Tape Saturation vs. Massey Tape Head? CalebB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-14-2008 12:49 PM
center drift RickyG ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 09-04-2003 06:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com