Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2004, 09:13 AM
Richard Barrie Richard Barrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 199
Default OSX \"builds\"

I look after multiple ProTools systems on several varieties of G4s and G5s. I keep a Carbon Copy Clone of each system's hard drive so that I can easily have a 'clean' restore at the beginning of every session.
Unfortunately this means every time I need to upgrade any software I have to upgrade each system individually and the create a new CC Clone - this becomes very tedious.
My question is can I use a single Clone image to restore to any model of G4 or G5? I realise that I would have to re-enter serial numbers for network sniffing apps like Quickeys, and challenge based plug-ins like autotune.
All of my builds have identical software installed.
Experiments seem to indicate that this is indeed the case, but I would like to know for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2004, 09:26 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: OSX \"builds\"

This post in the Bombich CCC forums points to this article on
Apple Knowledge base list of builds.

That all indicates to me that the answer is no, but I would ask at the CCC forums for a positive answer.

hth,
jim
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2004, 09:37 AM
Richard Barrie Richard Barrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 199
Default Re: OSX \"builds\"

Thanks for quick reply.
I can add the proviso that any build would initially be created on my most 'modern' mac as there is an implication that builds are backward compatable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Haswell builds? dave911 Windows 3 09-13-2013 09:42 PM
Hackintosh builds? Sixstringer7 General Discussion 7 04-08-2013 10:41 AM
new to pc builds chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-18-2011 08:10 PM
any p45 builds fofif5792 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 01:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com