Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2019, 02:32 PM
TMNTfan TMNTfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: US
Posts: 10
Default Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Hello, and thanks in advance for taking a second to help.

I keep getting CPU spikes to 100%. It will bounce every 1/2 second between about 3-7% to 85-100%. This is even without a session open. The strange thing is that it's only the total CPU spiking, not the individual cores.

Any suggestions for a fix?

PT:
PT 2019.6 (haven't updated yet to 2019.10)

PC:
Alienware Aurora R6 Desktop
16GB Ram
Intel 17-7700
Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

OS:
Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2019, 02:40 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,771
Default Re: Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Any third party plugins?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2019, 02:50 PM
TMNTfan TMNTfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: US
Posts: 10
Default Re: Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Yes, but this is without a session even open.

These are the manufacturers. I could list all of the plugins, but that list would be huge. Has anyone tried the disable hyperthreading with good results?
Air Music Tech
Avid
Izotope
Sonivox
Two Big Ears
Waves
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2019, 03:20 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,771
Default Re: Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMNTfan View Post
Yes, but this is without a session even open.

These are the manufacturers. I could list all of the plugins, but that list would be huge. Has anyone tried the disable hyperthreading with good results?
Air Music Tech
Avid
Izotope
Sonivox
Two Big Ears
Waves
I just asked for third party plugins - you don't have to list every single plugin you have. First thing I would do is to move all plugins except for the Avid plugins to the unused plugins folder and see what that gets you. Then I'd uninstall the Two Big Ears plugins; actually you can do that by uninstalling the FB360 plugins using the uninstaller in your Programs folder. You really don't need those unless you're working in VR.


What iZotope and Sonivox plugins do you have installed?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2019, 03:33 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,988
Default Re: Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMNTfan View Post
Yes, but this is without a session even open.

These are the manufacturers. I could list all of the plugins, but that list would be huge. Has anyone tried the disable hyperthreading with good results?
On my system, disabling Hyperthreading helped immensely with spikes.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-2019, 04:02 PM
TMNTfan TMNTfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: US
Posts: 10
Default Re: Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I just asked for third party plugins - you don't have to list every single plugin you have. First thing I would do is to move all plugins except for the Avid plugins to the unused plugins folder and see what that gets you. Then I'd uninstall the Two Big Ears plugins; actually you can do that by uninstalling the FB360 plugins using the uninstaller in your Programs folder. You really don't need those unless you're working in VR.


What iZotope and Sonivox plugins do you have installed?
I moved all but Avid, and AIR plugins to the unused folder, and I'm still getting the same spikes.

I also removed all FB360 plugins.

For Sonivox I have 88, Big Bang Cinematic, Big Bang, Blue Jay, Tony Coleman, Classic Bass, Harpsichord, Singles packs, Orchestral companion,

For Izotope, I have Alloy, Breaktweak, DDly, Breath control, Pitch Editor, Hook, Transient Shaper, Dynamics.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-10-2019, 04:03 PM
TMNTfan TMNTfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: US
Posts: 10
Default Re: Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
On my system, disabling Hyperthreading helped immensely with spikes.
Unfortunately, I can't seem to find where to disable hyper-threading on my machine.

I've tested setting the affinity to odd, and then even cores, but I have the same results.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2019, 01:44 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 35
Default Re: Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Try setting affinity for PT to higher enumerated cores and leave lower cores unchecked. In My case cores 0,1,2,3 unchecked and cores 4-11 checked. Upping the process priority seems to do less.

It seems ( many hours with process monitor) Windows allocates itself and its aides to lower cores, yelding some sometimes long IRQ to execution times and Job queues in those cores.

You might try the same for the process related to your audio Interface, if any.

Further, IF ACPI is implemented try SHORTLY inactivate "Control method battery" . Your computer mfg will fiercly argue not to do that.

Other things to try
disconnect from internet
Stop anti virus



FZZ

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2019, 10:13 AM
TMNTfan TMNTfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: US
Posts: 10
Default Re: Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkzzaJ View Post
Try setting affinity for PT to higher enumerated cores and leave lower cores unchecked. In My case cores 0,1,2,3 unchecked and cores 4-11 checked. Upping the process priority seems to do less.

It seems ( many hours with process monitor) Windows allocates itself and its aides to lower cores, yelding some sometimes long IRQ to execution times and Job queues in those cores.

You might try the same for the process related to your audio Interface, if any.

Further, IF ACPI is implemented try SHORTLY inactivate "Control method battery" . Your computer mfg will fiercly argue not to do that.

Other things to try
disconnect from internet
Stop anti virus



FZZ

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
I tried all of the above this morning, and still had the issue, with the exception of the ACPI, which I couldn't find, but I'll check again tonight after work.

Any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-21-2019, 10:37 AM
TMNTfan TMNTfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: US
Posts: 10
Default Re: Total PT System Usage: CPU Usage at 100% with Nothing Running

Bumping to see if anyone else has any other suggestions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real CPU Usage vs. Pro Tools System Usage Window tbonesteak4dinner Pro Tools 11 19 02-21-2019 09:04 PM
Cpu usage, Total does not mean total? Rockman413 Pro Tools 12 2 06-05-2017 01:58 AM
CPU usage error?! System usage 2%... pascalmowla Pro Tools 12 3 03-10-2016 01:00 PM
PT10HD running as native - System Usage Window YYR123 Pro Tools 10 3 01-10-2014 08:44 AM
HTDM not showing CPU usage in the system usage Brandonx1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 12-19-2004 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com