Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2018, 08:33 AM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,076
Default Mcdsp

I've been doing native work for the last 2 years after being in TDM land for 15 ish years. I currently use Slate VMR as my main channel strips for tracking low latency tracking.

I've been thinking of going HDX again. I have some McDSP plugins but not a ton. Downloaded the bundles and they seem ok for general tools. Anyone using them as their bread and butter in DSP land?

I have more than enough plugins. But I'd like some DSP capable plugins that rock if I go that way for future proofing.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2018, 10:22 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Mcdsp

Almost all of Plugin Alliance is AAXDSP

I use very few McDSP
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2018, 10:31 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Mcdsp

I use Filterbank, AE400 and Futzbox in nearly every session. All AAX-DSP. Softube FET is my go-to for compression, and I just started using bx_opto.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:18 PM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 719
Default Re: Mcdsp

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
I've been doing native work for the last 2 years after being in TDM land for 15 ish years. I currently use Slate VMR as my main channel strips for tracking low latency tracking.

I've been thinking of going HDX again. I have some McDSP plugins but not a ton. Downloaded the bundles and they seem ok for general tools. Anyone using them as their bread and butter in DSP land?

I have more than enough plugins. But I'd like some DSP capable plugins that rock if I go that way for future proofing.
I've used AE400 and 600 a lot but Sonnox dyn eq is now AAX DSP and i like it better. But McDSP dynamic eq is quite good. I've used 6030 compressor, but i use Arousor, softube tl100 and bx opto most of the time for compression. I think McDSP has great plugins but for bread and butter AAX DSP plugs, dont forget to check plugin alliance, sonnox and softube.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2018, 05:05 PM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: Mcdsp

Are you guys finding that you're using the native counterparts more once you're in mix mode? As an example, clients will send me routinely 70-80 tracks per song to start. Judging by mcdsp literature, if I just used one of their 6050 strips on each track, that would take up the entire card.

I can probably load 120 of em natively and my HDN wouldn't move past 20%. But I'd love it on my hdx bass tracking channel if I went Dsp.

I'm coming from having at one point hd5.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2018, 06:21 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Mcdsp

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
As an example, clients will send me routinely 70-80 tracks per song to start. Judging by mcdsp literature, if I just used one of their 6050 strips on each track, that would take up the entire card.
You get 4 instances of 6050 per chip. For one HDX card, that's 64 instances over 16 chips with 2 additional chips devoted to the mixer. So if the mixer wasn't needed (which it is) you could get 72 instances max.

__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2018, 06:37 PM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: Mcdsp

thanks for that pic. For me, I'd basically really want DSP for a few select instances. I've been doing bands just fine with Native. But personally, doing some Hammond and Bass work, where that instrument click is so important to lock in, I am shooting for anything I can latency wise. My system has been a little squirrely lately. Thanks again for the info!
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: McDSP 6030 HD v5 & FutzBox Native v5 (for sale with permit from McDSP) Dusty Angel Buy & Sell 3 11-15-2013 08:00 AM
mcdsp AC1 akaidai General Discussion 2 12-05-2009 09:59 AM
McDSP anybody? sykobilly65 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 08-14-2006 09:22 AM
DUY 's vs. McDsp's GORILLA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-15-2003 06:04 PM
McDSP goes HD AE Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-05-2002 11:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com