Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2111  
Old 05-03-2017, 09:37 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 517
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Marketing savvy hasn't exactly been one of Avid's strong points, evidenced by over 3/4 of a million views in this thread.
__________________
Brian Campbell
"Air mixes better than any console" Bill Porter
"Humility is mighty important in this business of listening" Bob Olhsson
Reply With Quote
  #2112  
Old 05-03-2017, 03:53 PM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcwiz View Post
and?


ProTools Paul has been bragging about this for years and has NEVER revealed or shared this solution.... even via pvt email he remains silent and ambiguous .



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2113  
Old 05-03-2017, 04:26 PM
Balanced Jack Balanced Jack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 64
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by al-andrew View Post
ProTools Paul has been bragging about this for years and has NEVER revealed or shared this solution.... even via pvt email he remains silent and ambiguous .



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2114  
Old 05-04-2017, 12:14 AM
skylab001 skylab001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Foothills of Socal
Posts: 207
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

The dumb thing here is that if I could use my Control24 with PT11 or 12 etc., I would be more willing to invest in other new Avid hardware and software, but at this point I'm considering moving over to Logic full time. I can still use any controller that I used 15 years ago with Logic today. The fact that avid threatens somebody who's trying to get something they decided is obsolete years ago up and running is just.... Lame.

More info on this Ethernet to midi?? C'mon we need to know.
Reply With Quote
  #2115  
Old 05-06-2017, 11:42 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,549
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skylab001 View Post
snip ... if I could use my Control24 with PT11 or 12 etc., I would be more willing to invest in other new Avid hardware and software ... snip
Exactly. Myself and many others feel exactly the same way. I will never invest in any Avid hardware again until someone at the company addresses this issue.

They claim that they cannot (read will not) convert a simple 591KB driver file to 64-bit code - while simultaneously bloating the software from only 246.1 MB (Pro Tools 10.3.10) to over 1.82 GB (Pro Tools 12.7.1). This tells you everything about the development team, and governing executives.

I am having zero problems running Pro Tools 10.3.10 with my Pro Control to this day. I have an incredibly powerful Mac tower, with Accel cards and additional UA DSP hardware. Clients are always blown away by how well designed the Pro Control is. Its ergonomic and aesthetic design blows away everything since. On the S3 they put the track "Select" and "Record Arm" buttons between the faders ! Look at this close-up photo of the S3 ...
S3 Close-Up

This speaks volumes about the current hardware design teams - and their lack of consulting real-world professional users.
Reply With Quote
  #2116  
Old 05-18-2017, 09:59 PM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Just sold my Control -24 ... bought two Raven ... bye bye


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2117  
Old 05-19-2017, 08:01 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,332
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Eucon works with every DAW that chooses to support it so it would be silly to restrict it to HD when it already works with CueBase.

I remember being told at a demonstration that the reason Pro Control was better than HUI is that the controllers addressed Pro Tools at a deep level in the code rather than just manipulating the GUI like all previous controllers had.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #2118  
Old 05-19-2017, 08:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giacinto1974 View Post
Hello everyone

some clarification please?

Can I use the Control 24 strictly as Control surface with PT 11 (not HD) with Mac's Sierra OS Via Ethernet connection? or will i need to downgrade my OS and use PT 10 (not HD)?

Sorry if its a redundant question...Im purchasing the controller in 2 days.

Thanks for your help.

G.
Hi, welcome to the community. But sorry, no.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #2119  
Old 05-19-2017, 10:20 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,673
Default Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
Clients are always blown away by how well designed the Pro Control is. Its ergonomic and aesthetic design blows away everything since.

I was once in love with my pro control as well and thought nothing could replace it, I since ran across a sweet deal on a blue icon and realized that they did better with this one.

Granted I did not have the DSP cards to replace (that you would), I was running my Apollo....natively

But I love the icon series....get one when you are ready to upgrade.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #2120  
Old 05-19-2017, 10:59 AM
Mr609's Avatar
Mr609 Mr609 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I was once in love with my pro control as well and thought nothing could replace it, I since ran across a sweet deal on a blue icon and realized that they did better with this one.

Granted I did not have the DSP cards to replace (that you would), I was running my Apollo....natively

But I love the icon series....get one when you are ready to upgrade.


So wait....ur running an icon natively??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vote for Control 24/ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11 tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 05-10-2015 06:14 AM
ProControl Vs Mc Control? surroundnoob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 08-13-2011 05:05 PM
Should I get a Control 24 or ProControl??? A Spooner ICON & C|24 3 03-23-2005 11:59 PM
Should I get a ProControl or Control 24??? A Spooner ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 03-17-2005 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com