Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2016, 09:18 PM
jack s. jack s. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 103
Default Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

I recently bought a new 6-core Mac Pro running El Capitan. I installed Pro Tools 12.4 and it's running great. I have a question: Do I still own the Joemeek Meequalizer plugin and Moogerfooger Analog Delay plugins that came with previous versions of Pro Tools that I was running? I don't see it as a download in the My Products section of my Avid Account for Pro Tools 12.4 or anywhere else. Let me know if there is any way to get new versions of those to run on my new system. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2016, 12:22 AM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 645
Default Re: Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

Whether or not you still own those plugins depends on whether or not you have the appropriate iLok licenses on your iLok.

If you do, then yes, you still own them.

Here are the installers you need:

Joemeek:
https://www.avid.com/US/products/JOEMEEK-Bundle

Moog:
https://www.avid.com/US/products/Moogerfooger-Bundle
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2016, 03:34 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jack s. View Post
I recently bought a new 6-core Mac Pro running El Capitan. I installed Pro Tools 12.4 and it's running great. I have a question: Do I still own the Joemeek Meequalizer plugin and Moogerfooger Analog Delay plugins that came with previous versions of Pro Tools that I was running? I don't see it as a download in the My Products section of my Avid Account for Pro Tools 12.4 or anywhere else. Let me know if there is any way to get new versions of those to run on my new system. Thanks!
Unfortunately Avid Accounts haven't been set up to provide download links for everything you own in the way of Avid plugins, especially those that you may have got via the 'Producer Factory' type bundles, or Music/Complete Production Toolkit.

There isn't any reliable notification of when updates are released for these plugins either.

I just go to www.avid.com/plugins every month or so, and filter the list by the typing in Avid. Then I manually go into the page for each of the plugins I own, and check for updates. OCCASIONALLY, there'll be a new version installer available, just wanting to be downloaded.

Avid's App Manager does not seem intelligent enough, at all. It does 'find' the Avid plugins you have installed, but doesn't inform you when updates are available for them.

There are many app and plugin manufacturers who have my contact details as a rebistered user, but who haven't acquired the knack of letting me know when they make a new version available.

I rely on two ways of keeping up to date ...
1) I have a list of sites that I trawl through on the first Monday of every month to manually check for available updates, and
2) I registered (years ago now) at www.kvraudio.com and signed up to receive their weekly newsletter (an email) which lists new releases, updates etc to apps, plugins, sample libraries and more. It's an invaluable resource, takes only a few seconds to scan through looking for anything relevant, and provides links too.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2016, 05:47 PM
jack s. jack s. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 103
Default Re: Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

Ok thanks guys. I'll check out the links. Hopefully they will work with PT 12.4.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2016, 01:31 PM
jack s. jack s. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 103
Default Re: Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guatamas View Post
Whether or not you still own those plugins depends on whether or not you have the appropriate iLok licenses on your iLok.

If you do, then yes, you still own them.

Here are the installers you need:

Joemeek:
https://www.avid.com/US/products/JOEMEEK-Bundle

Moog:
https://www.avid.com/US/products/Moogerfooger-Bundle
It is worth saying that I have the licenses on my version 1 Ilok. I'm assuming that I can transfer them to my new one though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2016, 01:39 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jack s. View Post
It is worth saying that I have the licenses on my version 1 Ilok. I'm assuming that I can transfer them to my new one though.
Yes, as long as your new iLok key is on the same account. Just plug both of them into your computer, fire up the iLok License Manager and drag your old licenses to your new iLok.

If the iLoks are on different accounts, then you will have to do a transfer through iLok which costs $25 per plugin, iirc.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group North American Tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2016, 01:45 PM
jack s. jack s. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 103
Default Re: Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelpry View Post
Unfortunately Avid Accounts haven't been set up to provide download links for everything you own in the way of Avid plugins, especially those that you may have got via the 'Producer Factory' type bundles, or Music/Complete Production Toolkit.

There isn't any reliable notification of when updates are released for these plugins either.

I just go to www.avid.com/plugins every month or so, and filter the list by the typing in Avid. Then I manually go into the page for each of the plugins I own, and check for updates. OCCASIONALLY, there'll be a new version installer available, just wanting to be downloaded.

Avid's App Manager does not seem intelligent enough, at all. It does 'find' the Avid plugins you have installed, but doesn't inform you when updates are available for them.

There are many app and plugin manufacturers who have my contact details as a rebistered user, but who haven't acquired the knack of letting me know when they make a new version available.

I rely on two ways of keeping up to date ...
1) I have a list of sites that I trawl through on the first Monday of every month to manually check for available updates, and
2) I registered (years ago now) at www.kvraudio.com and signed up to receive their weekly newsletter (an email) which lists new releases, updates etc to apps, plugins, sample libraries and more. It's an invaluable resource, takes only a few seconds to scan through looking for anything relevant, and provides links too.
I would be running AAX 64 bit native on my system correct? There are several different versions of AAX 64 bit and I'm not 100% sure which one to use.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-15-2016, 01:54 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jack s. View Post
I would be running AAX 64 bit native on my system correct? There are several different versions of AAX 64 bit and I'm not 100% sure which one to use.
PT11 and 12 are AAX64 only. PT10 supported AAX32 along with TDM and RTAS, serving as a bridge.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-15-2016, 02:15 PM
jack s. jack s. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 103
Default Re: Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelpry View Post
Unfortunately Avid Accounts haven't been set up to provide download links for everything you own in the way of Avid plugins, especially those that you may have got via the 'Producer Factory' type bundles, or Music/Complete Production Toolkit.

There isn't any reliable notification of when updates are released for these plugins either.

I just go to www.avid.com/plugins every month or so, and filter the list by the typing in Avid. Then I manually go into the page for each of the plugins I own, and check for updates. OCCASIONALLY, there'll be a new version installer available, just wanting to be downloaded.

Avid's App Manager does not seem intelligent enough, at all. It does 'find' the Avid plugins you have installed, but doesn't inform you when updates are available for them.

There are many app and plugin manufacturers who have my contact details as a rebistered user, but who haven't acquired the knack of letting me know when they make a new version available.

I rely on two ways of keeping up to date ...
1) I have a list of sites that I trawl through on the first Monday of every month to manually check for available updates, and
2) I registered (years ago now) at www.kvraudio.com and signed up to receive their weekly newsletter (an email) which lists new releases, updates etc to apps, plugins, sample libraries and more. It's an invaluable resource, takes only a few seconds to scan through looking for anything relevant, and provides links too.
Wait, I just selected 10.11.x on the filter of the avid plugin compatibility page and only ONE plugin is compatible with OS 10.11.x, which is what I am running on my new Mac Pro. Is that right? It is only one plugin made by Nugen that I don't own. What is the likelihood that plugins from 10.10.x will run on my OS? That really sucks if I can't run any of the Joemeek or Moogerfooger plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-16-2016, 07:03 PM
Fastermouse Fastermouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Between the desert and the mountains.
Posts: 439
Default Re: Do I Still Own old 3rd Party Plugins?

I just wanted to say thanks for this. I like some people f the old plugs and don't know how to fing them on Avids site. It's frustrating rating to own a license and not know if it works anymore. Like the Bomb factory stuff.
__________________
Head Engineer KRBX Radio Boise
Owner Operator of The Workshop

12.4
Antelope Zen
Creation Station
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd party AAX plugins bortraws macOS 15 03-19-2012 01:41 AM
Where to put 3rd party plugins? boycie Windows 4 01-27-2012 05:29 AM
Need help please 3rd Party plugins basslik macOS 4 08-06-2011 11:13 AM
3rd Party Plugins in 5.3.1 eon sol 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2002 08:12 PM
3rd Party Plugins abrice Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 11-10-2001 09:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com