Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-13-2015, 06:28 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,703
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
After Pro Tools 12 comes Pro Tools 2016??

Did they skip 2003 versions?

I read it as Support for 3 "Vanilla" and 3 HD licenses for this year and next.
Total of 8 licenses: 2 Support licenses and 6 Pro Tools licenses.

Pro Tools HD with Upgrade and Support Plan 2015 (8)


The 8 licenses are:

(1) Pro Tools 10
(2) Pro Tools 11
(3) Pro Tools 12
(4) Pro Tools 2016 – (Support for the above 3 “Vanilla” licenses)
(5) Pro Tools HD 10
(6) Pro Tools HD 11
(7) Pro Tools HD 12
(8) Pro Tools HD 2016 – (Support for the above 3 “HD” licenses)



You can see all your licenses included in the Bundle, when you login here:
https://www.ilok.com/#!home
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 02-13-2015 at 10:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-13-2015, 06:37 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
I read it as Support for 3 "Vanilla" and Support for 3 HD licenses for this year and next. Total of 8 licenses: 2 Support licenses and 6 Pro Tools licenses.
I gathered as much, I was just joking about how going from PT11 to PT2016 skips version 12 through version 2015
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-13-2015, 06:57 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,703
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

No worries - didn't realise: it's still Friday the 13th in USA!

(it's Saturday arvo here in Oz).


Any way you look at it - have a top weekend!

(Bought my darling wife a gorgeous PlugIn for Valentine's Day - I'm sure she'll be tickled!)
Update: My wife bought me some of her favourite ice-cream!
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 02-13-2015 at 10:25 PM. Reason: ice-cream update
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-13-2015, 08:26 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
I gathered as much, I was just joking about how going from PT11 to PT2016 skips version 12 through version 2015
I'm betting PT 12 will be the last version...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:10 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,703
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

Whatever post-PT12(HD) is called, upgrading would benefit both the users and Avid's share-holders if these options were included:

(1) the current HD Upgrade options (Annual)

(2) PT HD Upgrade (5-Years)

(3) PT HD Upgrade (10-Years)


As it appears "high-end" users are Avid's prime market, introducing 5 or 10-Year Upgrades would remove all of the fear of being "locked in to a particular version" - encouraging users to invest in Avid hardware again.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:21 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
I'm betting PT 12 will be the last version...

They changed the splash screen already, I thought we had all assumed that PT12 would be the last version before the product line just becomes Pro Tools | Software. Maybe with a date to indicate the release.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-13-2015, 11:07 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
(8) Pro Tools HD 2016 – (Support for the above 3 “HD” licenses)
Pro tools 2016?
What about Pro tools 2020 and 2021 and 2022?
I am wonder if can still upgrade 10 years from now.
I think the more important question that people should ask is why Avid is putting out crappy upgrades that last really good upgrade was PT 8.
From what I saw @ NAMM PT 12 offers no really amazing features that are useable.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-14-2015, 01:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,222
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
As it appears "high-end" users are Avid's prime market
Always have, always will.

There were only high-end users until 1999 when Pro Tools LE was introduced. If you remember those days, you could call that "crippleware" (max 18 i/o among other limitations) but then again I THINK that it was only released because educational institutes needed something cheaper to educate people who would then be buying the high-end system. I'm not sure if I'm right (just guessing) but it surely looks like it -- a system just big enough to get the courses going, but a tad too small for a real gig.

Today, the standard Pro Tools software is just as capable as a HD1 system in 2002 and IMO it's just simply amazing how much "standard" user gets today.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-14-2015, 01:26 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Today, the standard Pro Tools software is just as capable as a HD1 system in 2002 and IMO it's just simply amazing how much "standard" user gets today.
Not to mention the cost of entry is much less today for an HD rig than it was back then. $7k for HD Native plus HD I/O 16x16. Add in the computer of your choice, that's a really powerful small format system for less than 10 grand.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-14-2015, 06:26 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: PT12(HD) License Permanent?

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
Whatever post-PT12(HD) is called, upgrading would benefit both the users and Avid's share-holders if these options were included:

(1) the current HD Upgrade options (Annual)

(2) PT HD Upgrade (5-Years)

(3) PT HD Upgrade (10-Years)


As it appears "high-end" users are Avid's prime market, introducing 5 or 10-Year Upgrades would remove all of the fear of being "locked in to a particular version" - encouraging users to invest in Avid hardware again.
Unfortunately, that won't work "accounting wise".

While it does create "closed-end" service contracts, it also requires reserve amounts to cover future service be held longer than is practicable.

Understand the accounting, and you will understand all...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT12 / Dolby Atmos mpeg5 Pro Tools 12 35 03-02-2015 12:21 AM
Does PT12 bring value Barry Johns Pro Tools 12 26 02-15-2015 08:41 PM
Eucon in PT12 priorytools Pro Tools 12 9 01-27-2015 04:12 PM
PT12 has less Instrument Tracks? adgjk Pro Tools 12 48 01-25-2015 04:41 PM
Pro Tools FAQ is now updated for PT12, etc. nst7 Pro Tools 11 120 01-25-2015 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com