Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:44 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?

I wouldn't hold your breath, they are having a hard enough time keeping their finances in check; let alone think about what customers think. From what I've been told from my source that is a dealer that was at an Avid seminar with many Avid techs there; they are NOT interested in moving forward with PT 10. It's all about PT 11 now. I'm in the same boat as some of you in that I purchased my PT 10 about 4 months before PT11 was released, so upgrading isn't an option financially.

The way I look at it though, as a semi-pro, is one session is all I need to pay that upgrade cost off. Many professionals on the other hand, you have my sympathy. Unfortunately, we all know that this is part of the business and we're at the mercy of our tools. The grass always seems greener on the other side, but I'm sure if any of us switched DAWs we'd find a whole other group of things to question.

PS. I ran PT 10 on a test drive with no problems, but couldn't see the benefits. If you're 'forced' into Mavericks; I'm pretty sure you can purchase Mountain Lion and roll back. Just a thought.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 02-25-2014, 10:38 PM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?

The silence is totally rude .... But we do all know how this cookie crumbles.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 02-25-2014, 10:54 PM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post

PS. I ran PT 10 on a test drive with no problems, but couldn't see the benefits.
There were quite a few editing and function bugs to name a few with 10 on mavericks as well as PT not being able to uninstall off your system... Some interfaces were unable to record. But it did appear to work fine until you started working... It all started rising to the surface 😇
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 02-26-2014, 07:29 AM
MatthieuH MatthieuH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ciboure France
Posts: 104
Default Re: Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?

Just for the information 10.9.2 works fine here
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:08 PM
TheStudioGuy TheStudioGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 57
Default Re: Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?

OK. Here's my deal....

I edit video on my machine as well, FCP X. I've held off on a significant update to it that requires Mavericks because of the PT10 issue.(I'm no where near ready for 11 due to plugin costs/availability).

I've held off as long as I can but I'm going to have to make a move. Despite being generally optimistic, I've resigned myself to the fact that the support is not coming, nor the courtesy of a notice to that fact.

I'm not too concerned with the uninstaller issue, but if I have any other serious problems, I'm getting out and going with Studio One.

And that's saying a lot from me. I've been a card carrying member since '98. About $5000 worth of certification training in addition to the hardware/software investments. I've evangelized to the masses for Digi the whole time as well......

Anyone using 10.3.8 with OS 10.9.2?
__________________
JP
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:22 PM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?

Hi , I feel your frustration... As we speak dealing with a bug where I need to uninstall 10.37 off a Mavericks machine.... Needless to say I have just installed 10.38 without uninstalling 10.37... Such bull [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] ! I am also a proud holder of AVid education investment and truly feel stung by their lack of care for basic operations !!! An uninstall for god sake !!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:52 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?

JP, you could go dual boot. Not the most convenient but it's an option
you could add REFit to it forces the boot option every time you launch or you just hold down the Option key when you turn your machine on.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 03-18-2014, 04:03 PM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?



Seems to be fine now ....
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 03-18-2014, 04:11 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by al-andrew View Post


Seems to be fine now ....
it's always been fine on 10.9, just not tested and the uninstaller doesn't work.

For some inexplicably reason Avid won't just come out and say no support for 10 on Mavs but it's obvious that's the case.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 03-18-2014, 04:46 PM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Will Pro Tools 10 be supported in Mavericks?

Yeah I hear you ... This was an install of 10.38 without an uninstall of 10.37 .... Risky stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks marcoegizi macOS 29 08-31-2014 12:08 AM
Pro Tools 11.0.3 / Mavericks David Whittaker Pro Tools 11 15 01-12-2014 07:48 AM
Pro Tools SE and Mavericks LizardWizard Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 2 12-08-2013 05:22 AM
Please HELP pro tools 10 and OS X mavericks bigsmokeproductions Pro Tools 10 11 11-14-2013 11:16 AM
Mavericks Pro Tools 11 IMAC27 Not Supported? sessionguitarist2013 Pro Tools 11 11 11-05-2013 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com