Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2011, 09:07 AM
Alio 45's Avatar
Alio 45 Alio 45 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 242
Default PT10 from PT8 or earlier

Whether PT9 owners are happy or not with the offer you have made them at least you have responded to them.

There are many of us in post that did not upgrade to PT9HD from PT8HD as there was simply nothing in it for us. There has been countless posts on that DUC highlighting this. Could someone at AVID at least have the decency to respond either way and give us your resons for your decision.

Al
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2011, 09:45 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: PT10 from PT8 or earlier

+1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2011, 10:32 AM
kb420 kb420 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: PT10 from PT8 or earlier

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
+1
Another big +1!!!!!! I skipped 9 and I am not happy about the upgrade price, but it is what it is. I'll sit version 10 out too!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2011, 10:43 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: PT10 from PT8 or earlier

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb420 View Post
Another big +1!!!!!! I skipped 9 and I am not happy about the upgrade price, but it is what it is. I'll sit version 10 out too!!!!!
Then you will wind up paying $4000 for the 8>11 Upgrade
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2011, 10:58 AM
lownotesinc lownotesinc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 206
Default Re: PT10 from PT8 or earlier

+1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2011, 11:01 AM
kb420 kb420 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: PT10 from PT8 or earlier

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25ghosts View Post
Then you will wind up paying $4000 for the 8>11 Upgrade
I know that you are only joking, but the way Avid is doing business.............

you're probably right!!!!! :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2011, 11:10 AM
CONMIX CONMIX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 80
Default Re: PT10 from PT8 or earlier

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alio 45 View Post
Whether PT9 owners are happy or not with the offer you have made them at least you have responded to them.

There are many of us in post that did not upgrade to PT9HD from PT8HD as there was simply nothing in it for us. There has been countless posts on that DUC highlighting this. Could someone at AVID at least have the decency to respond either way and give us your resons for your decision.

Al
+2!!
__________________
Conmix
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-29-2011, 11:22 AM
crashboombam crashboombam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: PT10 from PT8 or earlier

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alio 45 View Post
Whether PT9 owners are happy or not with the offer you have made them at least you have responded to them.

There are many of us in post that did not upgrade to PT9HD from PT8HD as there was simply nothing in it for us. There has been countless posts on that DUC highlighting this. Could someone at AVID at least have the decency to respond either way and give us your resons for your decision.

Al


+1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2011, 05:23 PM
Fastermouse Fastermouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Between the desert and the mountains.
Posts: 439
Default Re: PT10 from PT8 or earlier

Yeah, I'll +1 that too.
__________________
Head Engineer KRBX Radio Boise
Owner Operator of The Workshop

12.4
Antelope Zen
Creation Station
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2011, 01:27 AM
Micks_Mix Micks_Mix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 136
Default Re: PT10 from PT8 or earlier

+1

PT 9 just had nothing for me and for most other HD users, so I/we waited for PT 10. Now I hear, it is the latest version to support my HD3 system including the cards and interfaces which I bought just 1,5 years ago.

Is charging $1,500 Avid's farewell gift for me?

In about one year I have to upgrade my whole hardware as well. I'd pay about $300 or maybe $400 for the new features and hopefully some important bugfixes for e. g. the annoying ISD crashes. But $1,500??? That's almost the price for a complete new DAW like Nuendo. I am very disappointed.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX, 192 HD I/O, 192 HD Digital I/O, Focusrite OctoPre, Pro Tools 12.7.1 w/ HEAT option, Mac Pro 5.1, 24 GB RAM, OS 10.9.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
playing PT10 sessions on earlier versions fork-media Pro Tools 10 6 06-26-2013 09:13 AM
Keeping earlier upgrades? (9.0.1, 9.0.3., etc) peter5992 Pro Tools 9 1 08-18-2011 03:28 PM
How to open one earlier PT Session in PT 8? Violinopaganini Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 11-09-2009 08:22 PM
Xpand! for earlier users? agoldstraw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-02-2007 01:16 PM
Why did i not think of this earlier? s.d. finley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-19-2001 03:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com