Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:26 AM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default PT10 - at least one that's not angry

I'm reading lots of hostility about the pricing of PT10 and the new hardware. I won't pretend I can speak for those folks, or try to silence them either.

I doubt I'm alone in this, but in the midst of it all I just wanted to say that I'm not angry about it.

I don't have PT10 yet, but certainly will be buying it as I like what I see. My Accel system cost me more than twice what I'd need to buy in HDX, and has served me well, daily, and paid for itself many many many times over.

Maybe old age is mellowing me, but I just can't be angry about it.

I'm also not in a huge rush.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:47 AM
IO Composer IO Composer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 676
Default Re: PT10 - at least one that's not angry

I feel the same way. Where we differ is that I can't wait to upgrade my hardware. I'm trying I figure out what happens on day 1 though... Do my TDM plugins still work? Do I have to wait for compatibility releases from all plugin vendors? How realistic is a quick upgrade?
__________________
Jamey Scott
Dramatic Audio Post, Inc.
Burbank, CA
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:15 AM
sound01 sound01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 89
Default

+1

Too many people saying they've spent their last dollar with Avid, not me. I've been sitting on my Pci-x HD3 for quite a while now and it's getting a bit long in the tooth.

Can't wait to upgrade!!! But as IO Composer says, what about all my TDM plug-ins? I think it'll be a 'WUP and a bit' to get them all working.

Enjoy !!


Sent using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:34 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: PT10 - at least one that's not angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by sound01 View Post
Too many people saying they've spent their last dollar with Avid, not me.
Actually my last $2000 dollars I spent was on my jackass car that needed repairs.
Don't buy Mercedes Benz people. It's got great comfort but you will spend all your money on repairs.

Im dissapointed PT is not 64 bit yet, but PT10 has some nice features worth upgrading for, so I will eventually upgrade.
But with $50 bucks in my account i just have to wait for the next pay check (in 3 weeks time).
Hmmm, now lets se whats in the freezer.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:37 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,387
Default Re: PT10 - at least one that's not angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
Actually my last $2000 dollars I spent was on my jackass car that needed repairs.
Don't buy Mercedes Benz people. It's got great comfort but you will spend all your money on repairs.

Im dissapointed PT is not 64 bit yet, but PT10 has some nice features worth upgrading for, so I will eventually upgrade.
But with $50 bucks in my account i just have to wait for the next pay check (in 3 weeks time).
Hmmm, now lets se whats in the freezer.
hehe
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:38 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
Default Re: PT10 - at least one that's not angry

+1

I'll wait a year or two until plugins get sorted out, or at least until Avid no longer offer an upgrade path for legacy hardware, and then I'll make the move. Until then, I'll be producing music as usual.

Just because PT 10 and the new cards are out, it doesn't make my current PT9/HD3 Accel/legacy 192 I/O's-system sound worse than it did yesterday, neither does it hurt my capabilities (or lack thereof) as an engineer and producer .

Stein Tore
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2011, 11:54 AM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: PT10 - at least one that's not angry

TDM plug-ins that have RTAS equivalents will work with the new hardware as Native inserts, but you'll have to wait for an AAX update to run on the DSP. Same goes for TDM only plug-ins, they will need to be updated. Hopefully we'll see announcements from the major 3rd party manufacturers that have TDM only plug-ins.
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:04 PM
sound01 sound01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjguitar View Post
TDM plug-ins that have RTAS equivalents will work with the new hardware as Native inserts, but you'll have to wait for an AAX update to run on the DSP. Same goes for TDM only plug-ins, they will need to be updated. Hopefully we'll see announcements from the major 3rd party manufacturers that have TDM only plug-ins.
Thanks cj!!!


Sent using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:19 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: PT10 - at least one that's not angry

Been working with 10 for while now, and IMO this is the best release Protools has ever had... Smooth as silk and if Protools 9 was solid then I dont have words for what PT 10.... is

I have my macs running 24/7.... Protools as well... It has not crashed yet - not once !


And THAT is what I want from a DAW !

A 1000 USD upgrade - is a lot of money but for software of this caliber; a steal & no brainer (IMO).
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-21-2011, 01:17 PM
IO Composer IO Composer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 676
Default Re: PT10 - at least one that's not angry

Just got back from AES. PT10 looks great, I'm definitely excited. That said, the plugin thing is a MAJOR concern for me. I talked to a lot of plugin vendors and not one of them was ready for AAX. I'm really looking forward to seeing this list of 25 ready vendors, but the ones I use are all in "wait and see" mode. At this point TDM is 100% dead. TDM will not run on the HDX system at all. So, if there are any TDM plugins that you can't get rid of, HDX is not a good choice, or at least you'll have to keep your HD systems around. Waves, SoundToys, Eventide, SSL, have no current plans of supporting the new DSP architecture. So it begs the question... is the new DSP for Avid plugins only?

The other concern that everyone that I talked to had was what happens in 2 months when Apple releases their next Mac Pro sans PCIe slots? Apparently that's exactly what's going to happen. Avid had better purchase Magma immediately if they want this thing to fly.

Pricing is interesting. Trading in an HD3 system for a single HDX card is $5999. I could do that for double the power/voices/tracks. But... at the expense of SoundBlender, PitchBlender, Eventide, Revibe, Waves TDM, etc? That's a tough one...

An additional HDX card to make it a 512voice system? $6999. Ahem... I'll grab my hat on my own, thanks

-Jamey
__________________
Jamey Scott
Dramatic Audio Post, Inc.
Burbank, CA
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My ISA 428 makes me angry waxnsteel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-15-2005 05:54 PM
Still Waiting and getting very angry!!! AM STUDIOS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-09-2005 04:13 PM
I'm so angry and fed up! Pro Tools just died stoogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 03-15-2005 03:58 PM
angry about plugins upgrades shaun hamontree 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-28-2003 02:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com