Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-26-2016, 04:01 AM
Dad on a budget Dad on a budget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Windsor
Posts: 9
Default Re: Newbie needing help

Well Janne - took your advice and went for the yearly rental .. will do that until he passes his A levels and then see if he gets into the Uni he wants to study music production .. if not then I can cancel it after the 2 years.

Seems the Sonar is developing a Mac version Sonar 4 (I think) but only in test mode at present so will wait and see if I can upgrade that at a later stage again under Educational if he goes to Uni and have that as back up. He can of coarse still have Sonar 8 Prod on Windows on his backup laptop if he chooses.

Once again thank to you all and no doubt will be back when he starts to use it for some advice ... cheers Derek
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-26-2016, 04:59 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,555
Default Re: Newbie needing help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad on a budget View Post
Well Janne - took your advice and went for the yearly rental .. will do that until he passes his A levels and then see if he gets into the Uni he wants to study music production .. if not then I can cancel it after the 2 years.

Seems the Sonar is developing a Mac version Sonar 4 (I think) but only in test mode at present so will wait and see if I can upgrade that at a later stage again under Educational if he goes to Uni and have that as back up. He can of coarse still have Sonar 8 Prod on Windows on his backup laptop if he chooses.

Once again thank to you all and no doubt will be back when he starts to use it for some advice ... cheers Derek
Cakewalk/Gibson hasn't given a fancy name for the Mac version of Sonar yet; I don't think they'd call it Sonar 4 because that would confuse people who came up through the Sonar idiom from the original Sonar. Sonar 4 had some interesting things that didn't quite get straightened out until Sonar 5. Right now as a wrote it's a public beta or soon will be and at launch will only handle the plugins that come with the program meaning no external au or vst format plugins will work.

He'll be able to get a goodly amount of work done in Sonar 8 Producer. On the system I ran it on (Toshiba Satellite 1955 with 2.53 GHz P4 cpu, 2 gig ram, WinXP whittled down to run in under 100 meg ram load) I was able to run 30+ tracks with a goodly number of plugins no problem. Imagine what a modern system properly configured can run!
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
newbie needing help with missing session data sound Nittyann Pro Tools 12 4 04-18-2016 04:22 PM
Newbie needing help with minidisc transfer imanewbie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-05-2011 07:10 PM
MIDI Newbie needing set-up help Silence MIDI 5 06-04-2009 09:36 AM
Newbie Needing Help digi 002/motu pre8/keys 2ndstreamaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-28-2007 08:35 PM
Needing your help Thegenni Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-18-2007 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com