Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2012, 09:03 AM
AD Hislop AD Hislop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cool, CA
Posts: 6
Default SCSI Drives Availabilty for old Mix Plus

Help!!

My old Glyph drves are going down. I only have one left and need to replace them with something else (SCSI, firewire 400?). Any suggestions?

System:

Mix Plus
G4 (Yikes model, one of the first G4's, cannot be upgraded to System 10x)
Dual SCSI card
System 9.2.2
Apogee AD front end

This system has been rock solid for me and works great.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2012, 12:02 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: SCSI Drives Availabilty for old Mix Plus

I got some hits on Amazon for SCSI drives but good FW 400 drives with the Oxford 9xx chip sets work well and no SCSI voo-doo
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2012, 04:10 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,000
Default Re: SCSI Drives Availabilty for old Mix Plus

Ditch the SCSI IMO. Firewire all the way.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2012, 06:10 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,327
Default Re: SCSI Drives Availabilty for old Mix Plus

I would ditch the yikes and get a newer g4. The firewire on blue/white g3s and yikes g4s was very flaky from my experience.

The newer g4s also have 4 open pci slots instead of 3, giving you room to add a firewire or usb2 card if needed.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2012, 05:25 PM
AD Hislop AD Hislop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cool, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: SCSI Drives Availabilty for old Mix Plus

Thanks,

I thinkI will have to.

d
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2012, 05:32 PM
AD Hislop AD Hislop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cool, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: SCSI Drives Availabilty for old Mix Plus

Thank You,

I just got a newer G4 with but do not look forward to the install (PY and plugs with Floppies, system compatability etc.) But I have to at least attempt it. (Songwriter with minimal tech chops)

I appreciate your advice.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2012, 09:26 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,327
Default Re: SCSI Drives Availabilty for old Mix Plus

Which one did you end up getting?

If you got a mirror drive door model, you need to make sure it is a model with only FW400(the FW800 models can't boot os9). The FW400 mdds need a special version of OS9.2 called Os9 General... It's on the original install disks. That's really the only stumbling block I think you'll have.

There should not be anything quirky with the quicksilver or earlier compared to setting up the yikes(You obviously already have the correct usb floppy drive if you're using floppy auth plugins on a yikes, that's really the hardest thing to find).
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-23-2012, 09:04 AM
AD Hislop AD Hislop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cool, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: SCSI Drives Availabilty for old Mix Plus

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
Which one did you end up getting?

If you got a mirror drive door model, you need to make sure it is a model with only FW400(the FW800 models can't boot os9). The FW400 mdds need a special version of OS9.2 called Os9 General... It's on the original install disks. That's really the only stumbling block I think you'll have.

There should not be anything quirky with the quicksilver or earlier compared to setting up the yikes(You obviously already have the correct usb floppy drive if you're using floppy auth plugins on a yikes, that's really the hardest thing to find).
Hi,

I actually have two other CPU systems.

System 1.
G4 Dual 450 PM3,3
Boot ROM 4.2.8f1
FW 400
USB High speed
18GB syst drive
System installed: 10.4.9

This was given to me with a brand new virgin install with a lot of non-music software. I would like to explore leaviing it as is, if possible and use it with my 888/24 and 1622 and PT.

System 2.
G5 Dual 2.7 GHz Model PM 7.3 (pre-Intel)
CPU PowerPC G5 (3.1)
bus speed 1.35 GHz
Boot Rom: 5.2.4f1
FW 800 (FW 400 card installed)
System 10.4.9
Software: Logic 7, Final Cut Pro 6
Apogee Ensemble Interface

I use this with Logic and Final Cut and love it. I also use my Mix Plus/Yikes system to finish about 25 projects from the past. My understanding is that this G5 machine cannot be upgraded to current System versions and current software, (it is stuck in time like the Yikes). That's OK I do not need to change it. I have all the install disks.

My options for the 888/24 and 1622 are what I need to explore:

A. Install the cards in the newer G4 and acquire a newer PT version (6,7,8...)

B. Install the cards in the G5 and acquire a newer PT version (6,7,8...). With this I can use the TDM hardware with Logic as well as use PT.

I would ideally like to use the G5 for both Logic and PT. and only have one system.

I know this is a lot more than my original question, but since my Yikes/PT 5.1.1 system is now appearing to be so fragile, any advice would be great.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-23-2012, 09:22 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,327
Default Re: SCSI Drives Availabilty for old Mix Plus

G5's were never officially supported with mix systems, however some users on here have reported success in getting a few G5 models to work with mix cards.

In any configuration, the latest software that will work with Mix core cards is OS10.3.9 and Pro Tools TDM 6.4.1. Any OS or pro tools version after that will not work.

None of the G5's can natively boot in OS9, so you will lose your ability to use your floppy authorized plugins.... You need to find ilok versions of them if they are even available.

I think milesofwire got a mix system working with a dual 2.7 G5 a few years ago... I'm not sure if he used an expansion chassis or if the cards worked directly in the G5. Search the legacy section of the DUC, there's a thread on it somewhere in there.

Shameless plug: If you do decide to go this route and it requires a chassis to work, I currently have a G4/G5 compatible 13slot expansion chassis for sale here:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=325796
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 2 Availabilty Howardk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-26-2005 11:19 PM
hard drives: to SCSI or not to SCSI? Okion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-28-2002 04:57 PM
ANDRE & TOM: Adaptec cards to copy from SCSI drives to Firewire drives with G4/HD? ragbor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-11-2002 08:08 AM
Differences between using SCSI drives and Firewire drives ? pepasmax Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-28-2002 01:28 PM
FIREWIRE DRIVES X SCSI DRIVES Alécio Costa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-04-2002 07:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com