Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2011, 10:52 PM
zachbot zachbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 7
Default ProTools 9.0.5, iLok issues, Digi 003R+ issues

I am in dire straights.
I have been happily using my Protools rig for weeks and 3 weeks ago I get an "unable to initialize ASIO device" error meaning my Digi 003R+ was not being seen by PT9 ? I updated all the drivers, checked my settings, rebooted and tried again. Nothing. I uninstalled Protools9, reinstalled my original PT8, then installed my PT9 cross grade, then updated PT9, now I get an error that my iLok needs to be updated, ok. I have downloaded the update from iLok 3x and ran the installer 3x, and I continue to get the same error, I can't even launch PT9 to see if my Digi 003 is working?

I can't believe that it is so difficult to contact AVID about these type of issues, I just want there to be some one I can email to get a little help. I have been a supporter of AVID through all the recent changes, but I am starting to get frustrated.

Has something changed recently, w/ Windows? or Digi? or iLok?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2011, 11:41 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: ProTools 9.0.5, iLok issues, Digi 003R+ issues

It appears to me that most of the 003R problems like this are Firewire connectivity related. It was certainly that when I first got my 003R.

I was trying to plug the firewire cable straight into my motherboard which as it turned out had an incompatible chipset with PT. I installed a Firewire card into my computer (Oxford chipset, Texas Instruments controller) and it worked.

I usually re-install iLok driver straight after a clean PT install.

BTW, once you get it working properly, I found that my system plays nicely with PT when I Turn on the 003 (& any other outboard gear) then boot computer up. When finished shutdown computer then turn hardware off. Before I wasn't doing this and I would get random problems with drivers not communicating properly.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2011, 09:52 AM
zachbot zachbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 7
Default Re: ProTools 9.0.5, iLok issues, Digi 003R+ issues

I am using a FireWire 800 card on my laptop, the 400 wasn't fast enough to do multiple tracks while the system was working. My biggest issue right now is the iLok drivers, PT says I need to update the software, which I have done multiple times, but I keep getting the same initial error.

I am planning on scrubbing the whole instal tonight and starting over (yet again).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2011, 12:33 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: ProTools 9.0.5, iLok issues, Digi 003R+ issues

This message, "unable to initialize ASIO device" has nothing to do with the iLok, so maybe there are multiple issues at play. Sometimes a fresh install is the best solution(and avoid 9.0.5 for now). Also, sometimes changing the firewire driver can help(for me, the Legacy driver did NOT work, bu the TI driver works fine). Posting a Sandra report might get other advice as well
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2011, 04:32 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: ProTools 9.0.5, iLok issues, Digi 003R+ issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Also, sometimes changing the firewire driver can help(for me, the Legacy driver did NOT work, bu the TI driver works fine).
Yes this did the trick for me also.

Whilst connected to Internet, Control Panel>Device Manager>IEEE1394 Bus Host Controllers>Double click controller>Driver Tab>Update Driver (Select Automatically). Repeat for all IEEE1394 controllers.

If you have the right F/W chipset you should get a Texas Instruments driver installed automatically.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2011, 07:54 PM
zachbot zachbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 7
Default Re: ProTools 9.0.5, iLok issues, Digi 003R+ issues

WOW still no love...I have uninstalled Protools, 2x. now I am trying to install LE8 from the disc on my PC and it stalls out and tells me there is no disc inserted!!! I can see the disc in the Windows Explorer window. I bought LE8 and cross graded to PT9.

I believe at this point that it may be an issue with my laptop. I have been running PT9 on this machine for 6 months with no issues now out of nowhere, I can not work on anything.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-2011, 08:19 PM
zachbot zachbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 7
Default Re: ProTools 9.0.5, iLok issues, Digi 003R+ issues

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Dell Studio 1749
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Zachbot-PC
User : Zachbot

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 520 @ 2.40GHz
Speed : 2.53GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 4 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Dell 029DYC
BIOS : Dell A05 07/14/2010
Bus(es) : PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 5.68GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Dell Core (Auburndale/Havendale) DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 1x 133MHz (133MHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Shared Memory : 130MB
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Samsung M471B5273CH0-CH9 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMT325S6BFR8C-H9 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics (12 SM4.0 767MHz, 256MB DDR3 2x533MHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
TOSHIBA MK5056GSY (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (P:) (Y:)
TSSTcorp DVD+/-RW TS-T633C (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 7GB (D:)
DTSOFT BDROM () : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
RECOVERY (Y:) : 15GB (NTFS) @ TOSHIBA MK5056GSY (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
OS (C:) : 451GB (NTFS) @ TOSHIBA MK5056GSY (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Pro Tools LE (D:) : 7GB (CDFS) @ TSSTcorp DVD+/-RW TS-T633C (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ DTSOFT BDROM ()

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell HM55 LPC Interface Controller
Audio Device : Dell P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Integrated Device Tech 7675h
Disk Controller : Dell P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Dell O2Micro Integrated MMC/SD controller
USB Controller 1 : Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Dell 10F7h
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Xerox Phaser 8550DT PS (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : EPSON Artisan 800 Series (360x360, Colour)
Printer : Adobe PDF Converter (4000x4000, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)
Wireless Adapter 1 : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6200 AGN

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 4.7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Gain Issues and Protools Issues (Bounce to Disk and Knob/Pot adjustments) Lucky Bastard Getting Started 6 01-16-2014 03:29 PM
ilok issues - ProTools 9 crossgrade LE (Please install the iLok Client Software) pauledwards Windows 3 09-10-2013 04:02 PM
Protools 9 and ilok portability issues. cdavis6406 Pro Tools 9 3 11-04-2010 07:11 PM
Issues with 003R The Oxygen Kiosk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-28-2010 01:46 PM
Serious issues with 003R macdeath 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-16-2007 07:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com