Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2010, 07:33 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Fiddle anyone??????

Don't ask why.. 'cuz I don't know. But I've got it in my head that I need a decent VI that has a fiddle in it... not an orchestral violin, not even a gypsie violin... I want a fiddle.

I came across a sample mp3 for SonicVox (I think) MUSE.. it was alright, but I can't find anyone that has it down here... or anyone that's used/using it for that matter..

Does anyone here use MUSE? Anyone have suggestions on another VI with a fiddle?

I'm getting old I think...
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2010, 09:19 AM
Rubicon's Avatar
Rubicon Rubicon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 520
Default Re: Fiddle anyone??????

Fiddle would be great. Don't forget to add all the key-switching for bends and FF, pp, and make sure round robin perfectly reproduces repeated notes. And a separate key-switch for vibrato as well.

Oh wait a sec! No one has made one yet! (IMHO)

Unless you count the silly GM "fiddle"...

Just fiddle-ing around! Good luck with the search. Possibly a Marc Violin would work..

Rubicon
__________________
Wikipedia
IMDB
ITunes

ML 10.8.2, PT 10.3.1 HD Accel 3, Mac Harpertown 32gb Apple RAM, 4 1T Apple Drives, Waves Mercury. Lots of unstable VI's.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2010, 02:21 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,031
Default Re: Fiddle anyone??????

Could I suggest getting a real fiddle ?

Like the guitar and most other string instruments there are so many variations and ways to play it that it's impossible to realistically recreate into one VI.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2010, 03:14 AM
nod25 nod25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BrisVegas, AUS
Posts: 1,013
Default Re: Fiddle anyone??????

Chris Hein would be good for this, but he doesn't do a fiddle...
__________________

--------------------------------------------------


Why do people keep running over a string a dozen times with their vacuum cleaner, then reach down, pick it up, examine it, then put it down to give the vacuum one more chance?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2010, 06:02 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Fiddle anyone??????

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
Could I suggest getting a real fiddle ?

Like the guitar and most other string instruments there are so many variations and ways to play it that it's impossible to realistically recreate into one VI.

LOL.. Sure! Suggest away.. but once you heard me play it you would offer to write a prog for it...

I only want it for songwriting.. any 'real' recording would get a 'real' fiddle player to play on it..

There actually is one I found in a VI package, MUSE.. but it's no longer offered. The company broke out all of the instruments into individual ones.. I tried the banjo and for $22 it's OK for song writing, (better than the sampletank one).. I asked them about getting their fiddle.. They told me no.

I did like it though.. just scratchy enough to sound right.
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2010, 07:19 PM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 361
Default Re: Fiddle anyone??????

The Kinh has a suggestion. Dont use virtual instruments for anything other than synths and electric drums. The truth is this, you cannot get even remotely close to reproducing a strumming guitar, fiddle, pedal steel etc if these instruments require a particular technique and feel to play them. Theoretically and in practice its imposible to do so via a keyboard regardless of how many key switches or pedals you use.

These types of vsts are tailored for people who are relatively new to writing music and dont really understand the difference yet. If you want to produce real music, use real instruments otherwise the quality and heart just wont be there.
And I am the Kinh.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2010, 07:31 PM
nod25 nod25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BrisVegas, AUS
Posts: 1,013
Default Re: Fiddle anyone??????

The Kinh has spoken
__________________

--------------------------------------------------


Why do people keep running over a string a dozen times with their vacuum cleaner, then reach down, pick it up, examine it, then put it down to give the vacuum one more chance?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2010, 07:48 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Fiddle anyone??????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kinh View Post
These types of vsts are tailored for people who are relatively new to writing music and dont really understand the difference yet. If you want to produce real music, use real instruments otherwise the quality and heart just wont be there.
And I am the Kinh.
Apparently the Kinh needs the TamaraMuseReadthewholepost plugin...

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
I only want it for songwriting.. any 'real' recording would get a 'real' fiddle player to play on it...
Peace!
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-14-2010, 07:29 PM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 361
Default Re: Fiddle anyone??????

Long live the Kinh!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a Fiddle player in LA DrFord General Discussion 7 09-07-2010 07:44 PM
Mic'ing help - fiddle fiddler69 Tips & Tricks 7 08-16-2007 01:00 AM
A Scratchy Fiddle... bigcow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 03-12-2004 09:29 AM
A Scratchy Fiddle... bigcow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-12-2004 07:08 AM
Recording Fiddle Beegster Tips & Tricks 9 04-16-2001 08:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com