Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2007, 12:57 PM
#6 #6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 13
Default Which on internal and which on external: samples and audio

Greetings. I am in a situation where my desktop's system drive is full of samples for a software sampler and i'm about to buy more samples and put them on a 3rd hard drive that will be internal. I am already recording to an external firewire hard drive. My question is: should I use the new internal hard drive to record to and the old external one for samples? Will using an external hard drive for samples decrease efficiency (especially when using Kontakt's direct from disk mode)? Would it be possible to use the internal drive both for samples and for recording? Thanks for help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2007, 07:55 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Which on internal and which on external: samples and audio

personally I would put all the samples on the internal and use externals for sessions and nothing on the system drive
you will most likely want to use the samples across many session so on the internal it always at hand
keeping session on the external let you have many session ongoing across many drives (all eggs in one basket theory here)
you should also have a backup of the samples on an external that is kept in a safe place
one should never have session related data on the system drive, it hurts performance
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2007, 06:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,810
Default Re: Which on internal and which on external: samples and audio

Most computers (except notebooks) can accomodate more than 1 internal drive so you can have a dedicated audio drive internally, and back it up to external drives at the end of each recording session. You will never regret having backups and you can delete the old sessions at a later date, maybe after you copied them to DVD-R for archival.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd Internal HD for Samples ilulilu888 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 10-19-2012 08:24 AM
External or Internal Drive for Structure Samples modernart Virtual Instruments 8 04-22-2008 08:15 PM
Best Internal Drive for Structure/ Samples: Recommendations? ryan de topanga Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-06-2007 10:20 AM
external/internal charms Storage Subsystems 3 10-19-2003 09:14 AM
internal or external? dade Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-22-2000 09:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com