Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-08-2000, 10:49 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

hey ya'll,

just to add another option to the mix, check out the APS 16x10x40 firewire drive at http://www.apstech.com/prod/item.cfm?cat=2&item=945

It's due out later this month (although it's already been pushed back a few times) and according to the salesman I spoke to, it will use the much discussed Yamaha drive mechanism. These things are built like tanks, I've been using a (very) old 4x SCSI CD-R of theirs for 3 years now and have never had a problem with it, I can't wait to upgrade. Please Santa, Pretty Please?



------------------
Slim
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-11-2000, 05:33 AM
carson carson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 122
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

The people who 'sold' me the Yamaha 16x10x40 told me that it would be here within a couple of weeks, but I haven't had a chance to get back to them and confront them with the new info from Armando. That's the story of IEEE 1394, they always say it will be here soon, and you can preorder etc, but all I wanna see is an actual device.

BTW, has anybody heard if there is an equivalent to Metric Halo's Mobile I/O from Yamaha or other companies on it's way? I'm saving some dough for that. I'm not even asking for something to use with PT, just something to use with _anything_.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-12-2000, 02:24 PM
cnelson87 cnelson87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 47
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

To guitates - or anyone else who knows - Do you really need to burn at 1x for glass master? It seems to me that 1s and 0s at any speed are still 1s and 0s. As long as there are no burn errors, then it should sound exactly the same. Right???
For the record I'm using a QPS 8x4x32 firewire and Toast OEM 4.1.2. It works great - never a coaster.
One more thing, I was given a copy of Toast Deluxe 4.2 from a friend. Legalities aside, I didn't know Toast had a 4.2 version yet. Anyone know about this?

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-13-2000, 01:08 PM
Noiz2 Noiz2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Detroit MI & SF CA
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>Originally posted by cnelson87:
To guitates - or anyone else who knows - Do you really need to burn at 1x for glass master?
Chris
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It probably is true but so what... a glass master is a totaly diferent beast than a CDR. There are stability and error rate issues with CDRs and they are not nec. a perfect test for masters however this is not an issue about rec. speed and I have seen no info that a faster rate produces a poorer quality and in fact I read a report that the faster rates actualy burn more consistantly.
sk
__________________
www.scottkouesound.com
SK
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-13-2000, 11:14 PM
MisterMe MisterMe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Manteca, CA
Posts: 30
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

I also have the QPS 12x10x32 Firewire and have had no problems with it either.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-14-2000, 12:16 AM
AnalogTree AnalogTree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 218
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

Anyone using a Firewire drive with complete success and satisfaction, w/ similar or same setup? ...and what software?
---
G4 500MHz dual processor
384 RAM & 40G (System) 40G (Audio)
PTLE 5.01
---

------------------
-AT

Absorb what is useful, reject what is useless, and add what is specifically your own. ~ Bruce Lee
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-14-2000, 10:13 AM
jophoff jophoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, U.S.A.
Posts: 25
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

To anyone having problems with random audio or pops between tracks with FireWire burners: in my experience, it's a problem of unsupported hardware. I have a Fantom Drive with Plextor 12/10/32A mechanism, and it threw in random audio between tracks sometimes. When I updated Toast OEM to version 4.1.2, a version which had native support for the drive, I never had the problem again. I also no longer needed the FireSCSI extensions which formerly made Toast think it was a SCSI drive.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-14-2000, 08:08 PM
AnalogTree AnalogTree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 218
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

I said Firewire Drive above, but of course, what I meant to say was Firewire CD burner


Appreciate any help, thanks.



------------------
-AT

Absorb what is useful, reject what is useless, and add what is specifically your own. ~ Bruce Lee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firewire cd burner staedtler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2002 09:39 AM
Firewire cdrw burner on B/W G3 ? Yes or No? Marc Cooreman General Discussion 2 12-10-2001 09:10 AM
Firewire CD Burner AM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 25 03-04-2001 02:26 AM
firewire cd burner jnitti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-29-2000 08:55 AM
CD burner Firewire or SCSI? dutchman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-17-2000 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com