Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2004, 11:23 AM
8mmOverdose 8mmOverdose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,318
Default RAM- Two Sticks or One?

I tacked this question to the end of one of my previous threads, but got no reply.

This RAM was reccomended to me for the mobo I will be buying.

http://www.accupc.com/itemDetail.jsp...&refer=bizrate

Is there any advantage to getting the matched pair of 256 (link above) over the single 512 stick of the same type? (link below)

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...=BROWSE&depa=0

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2004, 11:36 AM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,193
Default Re: RAM- Two Sticks or One?

If your board handles sticks up to 512 or even a GIG.... Get the 512. You can then upgrade to 1 gig later. Go with the 512...

Leave slots for upgrade and spend the extra 10 bucks or whatever it is on the higher stick. Memory is the best thing for your computer besides a fast CPU that is...

-Doc
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON REVERBNATION

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2004, 11:52 AM
8mmOverdose 8mmOverdose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: RAM- Two Sticks or One?

The single stick is actually $3 less expensive right now than the matched pair. I just want to go with the most efficient setup. if one stick is the better way to go, than i will get it. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2004, 12:03 PM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,193
Default Re: RAM- Two Sticks or One?

That is what I do. RAM is so dirt cheap right now. When I build a system, I usually just MAX out the ram to begin with. 3 sticks of 512 really helps the machine. Especially with all the memory eating plugs out there. The CPU is the big factor though. But if you have the cash, get 2 512 sticks and go from there.

-Doc
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON REVERBNATION

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2004, 12:53 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: RAM- Two Sticks or One?

RAM eisthe rworks or it doesn't. IF you put in two 256mb sticks, if one ever fails, you'll still have 256mb to run on til you replace the faulty one. however if you put in one 512mb stick and it fails, you have no working ram.

I'd go with 2x256 if that's all you can afford.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2004, 12:55 PM
8mmOverdose 8mmOverdose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: RAM- Two Sticks or One?

awhile back i bought one of those XP1700+ cpu's that are easily overclocked. DWdrummer has been running his setup with that cpu and the mobo/ram i will be buying- he is getting 32/24 (or something like that) on davec with the cpu oc'd to 2.4 gigs.

i have been running an XP1800+ for a long time with 512 RAM and no overclocking. i still use a digi 001 and never have any problems with plugs or track counts even at low buffer settings. basically i am upgrading at this time to do some video editing. i probably should just get two sticks of the 512.

even with a new case its only about a $300 upgrade (with just 512 ram). i dont need a 64 bit setup. i found staying away from the DUC really helps my "computer envy" problem, thefore i only upgrade when i really need to! of course now i spend all my money on guitar gear. . .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2004, 04:04 AM
BioFeedback BioFeedback is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 58
Default Re: RAM- Two Sticks or One?

So, are there any performance differences? 2x256 Vs 1x512??
I've been doing hours of searching and can't find an answer.
__________________
Rock on,
Mike P~

X-Dreamer II
Asus K8V Deluxe
AMD 64 3200+
Corsair XMS 1024MB
WD SATA 80G Drive X2
NEC DVDRW
MBox
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2004, 04:51 AM
ikke ikke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 197
Default Re: RAM- Two Sticks or One?

Quote:
RAM eisthe rworks or it doesn't. IF you put in two 256mb sticks, if one ever fails, you'll still have 256mb to run on til you replace the faulty one. however if you put in one 512mb stick and it fails, you have no working ram.

I'd go with 2x256 if that's all you can afford.

???

So youve said it yourself, ram either works or it does nt. It gets broken not very quickly. And with most memory sticks you ll get a life time garanty. So dont go for 2 seperate sticks!! Go for 1 big instead!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2004, 04:52 AM
ikke ikke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 197
Default Re: RAM- Two Sticks or One?

Quote:
So, are there any performance differences? 2x256 Vs 1x512??
I've been doing hours of searching and can't find an answer.
Get two sticks of 512 megs!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2004, 05:18 AM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: RAM- Two Sticks or One?

If you are installing this RAM into a MB that supports Dual-Channel RAM, then you need two matched sticks in order to take advantage of this feature.

I agree with the idea of having two as a redundant measure, should either one of the pair fail, the machine will at least work...

BTW, I'm running some 400MHz Corsair RAM in my current machine on an Asus A7N8-X Deluxe in Dual-channel, and it is just great!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better to have 3 sticks of ram then 4? stevedresser83 Windows 7 12-23-2010 08:51 PM
PT and USB sticks mr.armadillo Post - Surround - Video 2 04-29-2009 04:26 AM
2 Sticks vs 4 Sticks of RAM? Class-A 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-11-2008 07:26 PM
3 RAM sticks - A8N-SLI SixChurchStreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 04-25-2007 01:34 PM
USB Memory Sticks Warwick Storage Subsystems 1 03-10-2006 07:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com