Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2009, 01:06 AM
mr.armadillo mr.armadillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 826
Default PT and USB sticks

Is there a way to make PT learn to ignore USB sticks? We run into lot of situations where clients bring some files or stuff on their USB sticks. It's kinda annoying to always have to manually unmount them in the workspace window, and more than often clients get confused about that new "Digidesign Databases" folder they find on their stick after the session.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2009, 01:37 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,379
Default Re: PT and USB sticks

There´s no way to make PT ignore USB-sticks.
I avoid this by mainly using network transfers. Enable personal file sharing and people can copy the files to your drop-box.

Works even on a mixing stage while PT is chasing TC running a 100+ track session.

I´ve copied multiple GBs while PT kept on playing fine in the foreground. Saves a great amount of time.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2009, 04:26 AM
Neps Neps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 93
Default Re: PT and USB sticks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
There´s no way to make PT ignore USB-sticks.
I avoid this by mainly using network transfers. Enable personal file sharing and people can copy the files to your drop-box.

Works even on a mixing stage while PT is chasing TC running a 100+ track session.

I´ve copied multiple GBs while PT kept on playing fine in the foreground. Saves a great amount of time.

Frank.
Thats also the only work around I found that works. Would have been nice to not have to worry about the databases getting onto the USB stick. But my clients know now, after numerous times of telling them 'no, you don't have to worry about that, just Trash that!'

I did find though that when someone sends files to my dropbox the mac sometimes does become a bit sluggish. I may be at fault here due to bad disk managment..
__________________
When in doubt, blame Windows..

http://www.cmproductions.co.za
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better to have 3 sticks of ram then 4? stevedresser83 Windows 7 12-23-2010 08:51 PM
2 Sticks vs 4 Sticks of RAM? Class-A 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-11-2008 07:26 PM
3 RAM sticks - A8N-SLI SixChurchStreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 04-25-2007 01:34 PM
USB Memory Sticks Warwick Storage Subsystems 1 03-10-2006 07:59 PM
RAM- Two Sticks or One? 8mmOverdose 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-15-2004 10:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com