Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2018, 07:50 PM
ToneSetter ToneSetter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: SLC
Posts: 48
Default Pro Control w/ Pro Tools 10 or w/ V-Control Pro and Pro Tools 11 12 2018

To those still using a Digidesign Pro Control, do you prefer how it works with Pro Tools 10 or with Neyrincks V-Control Pro and Pro Tools 11 12 and 2018?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2018, 07:10 PM
ToneSetter ToneSetter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: SLC
Posts: 48
Default Re: Pro Control w/ Pro Tools 10 or w/ V-Control Pro and Pro Tools 11 12 2018

There's not anyone that has an opinion on if they like the digidesign pro control more with pro tools 10 or with pro tools 11 12 2018 using neyrincks v-control pro?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2018, 03:59 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 569
Default Re: Pro Control w/ Pro Tools 10 or w/ V-Control Pro and Pro Tools 11 12 2018

IMHO you are asking the wrong question.

With Pro Tools 10 you get full ProControl functionality, with V-Control Pro your ProControl turns into a standard HUI-compatible controller just like all other HUI-compatible controllers.

Everyone will like a ProControl with Pro Tools 10 much more then a more or less crippled ProControl with Pro Tools 11, 12, 2018 and V-Control Pro, that’s just how it is.

I think the main question is: do you want to continue using Pro Tools 10 with all its restrictions as 32 bit app and be stuck in time with TDM, RTAS and AAX 32 plug-ins or do you want to use the later 64 bit versions of Pro Tools and be able to use all recent software and AAX 64 plug-ins?

If you choose to move on from Pro Tools 10 and start using a 64 bit version of Pro Tools: since a few months you can also start asking the question if you also would like to continue using your ProControl with standard HUI functionality. Because until a few months ago there simply was no choice to be made at all, keep using your ProControl was equal to being stuck in time forever with Pro Tools 10.

But today you have a choice that can be made thanks to V-Control Pro and Paul Neyrinck. A ProControl works very well with V-Control Pro and Pro Tools 11, 12 and 2018 but only within the limitations of the HUI protocol.

If you are OK with those limitations then I suppose you could continue using your ProControl with V-Control Pro for many years to come.
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

System 1: Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.13.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate 2018.12 - HD I/O 16x16 - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x3)

System 2: Mac Pro (Mid 2010) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.9.5 - Magma PE6R4-I - PT HD 6 Accel PCI - PT HD 10.3.10 - 192D I/O - SYNC I/O
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2018, 01:24 PM
Etienne Kinosom Etienne Kinosom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Control w/ Pro Tools 10 or w/ V-Control Pro and Pro Tools 11 12 2018

I think the question is about the feeling of PC in PT12 with control versus the PC with pt10.
I use a 24 channel PC and just bought the vcontrol last month to allow the use of pt12.
I'm doing mix for movies (5.1 configuration, up to 150 tracks typically).
For the faders and basic functions, the control/pt12/vcontrol feel very close to the PC/pt10. The fader is very responsive (touch, latch writing automation), the transport is ok,
The fader bank is not working for me (banking 24 faders with 1 touch) but I didn't investigate so far so maybe there's a solution. I only succeed in banking 1 track at a time.
I've never used the matrix so don't miss it.
Would like to have the correct automation mode display of each track in the PC but it's not possible. Would like to have full name in the PC track display but impossible.
Shortcuts for automation is ok, even preview, commit preview etc... So I can really mix very similarly and with the same feeling with vcontrol as I used to do with pt10.
So vcontrol really ressucited my PC and allow me to switch to pt12.
I think PC+vcontrol is still a better option than avid artist surface control or even s3 for pt12.
You can add an iPad with protools control app if you want, or even a dock for more button.
Thanks a lot to Neyrinck to have do vcontrol, it's really a shame on Avid to have deliberately killed the PC support in pt11 and beyond.

Envoyé de mon Redmi 3 en utilisant Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2018 with Pro Tools Control on iPad - connection problem JacobSoundStudio Pro Tools 2018 4 06-25-2018 01:24 PM
Pro Tools 2018 Overwrites MC Control Settings simonjewel Artist Series 7 02-26-2018 01:51 PM
Pro tools / Control vs Artist Control firmflange Artist Series 10 02-27-2016 05:40 PM
Pro Tools | Control vs. Neyrinck V-control pro dr_daw Pro Tools 12 35 08-17-2015 03:38 AM
Logic Control to control Pro tools : Brilliant !! PGrealy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-10-2002 11:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com