Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #241  
Old 09-16-2012, 11:44 PM
Bill Rigby Bill Rigby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 188
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Thanks so much for you energy on his Fatcode;
Sounds great.......I think I`ll take the plunge.....

Still a bit anxious about the HD4 thing, what do you reckon the odds are?
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 09-17-2012, 06:04 AM
fatcode fatcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 71
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

I've made the blog to show my experience in bulding a hack for pro tools HD. I didn't know much about hackintosh but managed to follow instructions online and completed some successful hacks.

To clarify:

I have a Jetway HD3 with 10.6.8 - works well a part for the bluetooth business which really I think is minor. I also got the audio to work using the HDA kext.

I have made another build for a friend based on Gigabyte P55 board with i5 processor running Mountain Lion and Pro Tools HD Native and works like a charm. Having the edited DSDT helps a lot...

I have another build coming up following aaquilado's build. I could not find the P55 I wanted so I bought a used GA-H55-USB3 board. The board + i5 (with graphics) processor costed around 100$.

I want to have the two running in parallel to also test differences with native as I'm considering changing my set up to native. Mixing is done at 64 bit floating point in Native and 48bit in TDM. I do soundtrack sort of work and I don't need the low latency so native (i.e. no more cards) might be better for me.
__________________
GA-H55-USB3
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD|3

Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
i5-750
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD 'Native' (no cards)
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 09-17-2012, 06:11 AM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 88
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

You'll be very happy with the H55.
Thanks for all the info.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 09-21-2012, 01:23 PM
fatcode fatcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 71
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

@aaquilato

I have tried today to install 10.7.4 and 10.8 on the GA-h55-USB3

On 10.8 I got error -9162 and pro tools wouldn't start - not sure about it but this is the latest OS not yet supported by Avid so I accept some issues

More importantly on 10.7.4 Pro tools starts up but when I play I get some noise (like small digital glitches) mixed in with the music - I tried to move the core around slots but no luck - any idea ?

My installation was basic - OS X and then Pro tools HD 10 - i.e. no messing around with kexts (apart from the ones needed for audio etc)

To confirm specs, I have GA-H55-USB3 with BIOS 07 + i5-650

any ideas ?

Thanks
__________________
GA-H55-USB3
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD|3

Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
i5-750
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD 'Native' (no cards)
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 09-21-2012, 02:30 PM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 88
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Have you repaired your permissions?
How many cores have you assigned in the playback engine.
And the box that says... Might cause audible clicks...
I'm not in front of my system so I'm working from my memory.
OSX 10.7.4 with PT 10.2 works with the cards in slots 1-2-3.
Where is your audio? Not on your system drive correct?
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 09-21-2012, 06:22 PM
fatcode fatcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 71
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

@aaquilato thanks, I'll give it a try - mind if I PM you ? I guess we are having a one to one conversation on the GA-H55... and this thread is already long - easier to report here once it's all solved
__________________
GA-H55-USB3
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD|3

Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
i5-750
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD 'Native' (no cards)
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 09-24-2012, 12:35 AM
Bill Rigby Bill Rigby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 188
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

I cant get New Egg to ship the Jetaway to Australia, is the chipset for the Gigabyte GA-P75-D3 compatible ( Even if I have to run it as a Windows 7 machine) for PCI-X HD.

It`s Intel® B75 Express Chipset
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 09-24-2012, 03:09 AM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 88
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

I haven't started the new build yet but from what I'm reading, yes, the chipset works.

http://hackinbuilds.com/gigabyte-int...d-ga-b75m-d3p/
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 09-24-2012, 03:49 AM
Bill Rigby Bill Rigby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 188
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Thanks for the swift reply aaquilato;
But the compatibility of the chipset was not so much the Hackintosh side , but more the Pro Tools PCI-X cards...
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 09-24-2012, 04:03 AM
Bill Rigby Bill Rigby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 188
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

This is my compatibilty worry
ie the conversation you were having with fatcode


Originally Posted by fatcode
@aaquilato

I was looking back at the beginning of the thread and I found on page one:


10/19/11 UPDATE:
The only Sandy Bridge Intel chipsets which support PCI natively are: B65, Q65, and Q67. All others (which bridge support via pcie) have not been shown to work with pro tools HD PCIx cards.


I guess there are other chipsets that seem to work - P55 and H55

I'm looking to buy a used gigabyte to test a bit some configurations

I'm looking at some Gigabyte and I came across this one with 4 PCI slots. Ever heard of this one ?

GA-H55-UD3H (4 PCI Slots)

What do you think ?

Thanks for all your knowledge and help

Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh for Pro Tools 7 - 7.4 anybody ? zavid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-19-2014 04:51 PM
Hackintosh Problem pocketcalc Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 07-08-2012 05:35 PM
Hackintosh with PT9 HD Native? PMedia Pro Tools Software (Mac) 9 07-11-2011 09:12 AM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 03:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com