Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-11-2019, 06:33 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,508
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

So there was a firmware update as well as a Eucon update?

Those of you experiencing issues, did you update the firmware?

I didn’t, and like I mentioned above, am not seeing the first issue mentioned. I tried again today and paging through parameters works just as fast as it did prior to the Eucon update.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-11-2019, 06:45 AM
pavoni pavoni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: London
Posts: 12
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

I did upgrade to the latest firmware (for both mix and transport).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-11-2019, 08:43 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 81
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
So there was a firmware update as well as a Eucon update?

Those of you experiencing issues, did you update the firmware?

I didn’t, and like I mentioned above, am not seeing the first issue mentioned. I tried again today and paging through parameters works just as fast as it did prior to the Eucon update.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes i mention it on my initial post. I updated the firmware. So since we run the same Eucon 19.5 version, but our surfaces have different firmwares, each of us experience different behaviour. We get somewhere here...
Is there a way to downgrade the firmware to make it again usable till there is a solution for that issue, i wonder?


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-11-2019, 09:02 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,508
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Yes, that’s why I brought it up. That could be the issue.

If I get a sec tomorrow, I’ll try your second issue and see if I have the same problem you’re having. Might help narrow down if it is firmware related.

As to downgrading firmware - there are usually ways to do it, but not as simple as as a software downgrade on a computer. I’d reach out to someone at AVID and see if they can help in that department.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-11-2019, 09:36 AM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
Is there a way to downgrade the firmware to make it again usable till there is a solution for that issue, i wonder?

Cheers!
Yes... Just reinstall a previous version of EuControl, and then downgrade to the firmware version embedded within that version of EuControl.

You may have to do a forced update, which if I remember correctly, just requires you to on your computer keyboard, hold Command + Shift (Mac), or Alt + Shift (Win) and click "Update Firmware".

An update firmware window will appear, click "Update Firmware" again. Do not power off your surface until the process is complete!

Reinstall the current version of EuControl.

You must also realize running a version of EuControl with a different Firmware, may have unintended results... just sayin'

That said... I did just that for years! I liked a particular EuControl / Firmware combination that gave me the best of both worlds. YMMV

Al
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3

Last edited by MoPro; 05-11-2019 at 09:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-11-2019, 12:56 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 81
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Yes, that’s why I brought it up. That could be the issue.

If I get a sec tomorrow, I’ll try your second issue and see if I have the same problem you’re having. Might help narrow down if it is firmware related.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for your input! Appreciated!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-11-2019, 01:02 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 81
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoPro View Post
Yes... Just reinstall a previous version of EuControl, and then downgrade to the firmware version embedded within that version of EuControl.

You may have to do a forced update, which if I remember correctly, just requires you to on your computer keyboard, hold Command + Shift (Mac), or Alt + Shift (Win) and click "Update Firmware".

An update firmware window will appear, click "Update Firmware" again. Do not power off your surface until the process is complete!

Reinstall the current version of EuControl.

You must also realize running a version of EuControl with a different Firmware, may have unintended results... just sayin'

That said... I did just that for years! I liked a particular EuControl / Firmware combination that gave me the best of both worlds. YMMV

Al

Great reply MoPro, thanks for the info! Will try it, since there is no reply from Ed or someone else from Avid about the matter so far....
I want to make the surface usable again.


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-11-2019, 10:48 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,508
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

OK. I take back everything I said so far in this thread. Mine is totally borked too.

It's not so much a lag, but rather it's not banking through the pages of parameters as it should. When it does, sometimes if I page back, the first eight parameters aren't there. Some are, some aren't. Sometimes it keeps some of the parameters from the prior page and adds some from the former. Sometimes it leave gaping holes in the eight parameters. It seems totally random.

I just watched the video linked in the first post and it's similar in that sometimes pages won't move, but when they do, it sometimes gets all messed up. Very bizarre.

When I first tested it, it seemed fine. Admittedly, it was a brief test to see if the plugin focus worked... which it did.

So yeah, I can confirm the same issue and my firmware has not been updated, so we can rule that out I guess.

I might shoot a video too of what mine is doing.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-11-2019, 11:38 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,508
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Here's a couple of videos showing the issues mentioned above.

The plugin I'm using to demonstrate the issue is Arousor by Empirical Labs. It happens with others as well, so it's not isolated to this particular plugin.

For those that aren't familiar with this plugin, the parameters are spread across all 8 knobs on 2 pages. You can clearly see in the video how this is not working as it should.

https://app.box.com/s/mx1o4y4ap9wesl8z1ys7yyp4hre174ek

https://app.box.com/s/9v9038t9eebrfocqif8hwy3u0bien6u0

Last edited by Sardi; 05-11-2019 at 11:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-12-2019, 04:28 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 81
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Here's a couple of videos showing the issues mentioned above.

The plugin I'm using to demonstrate the issue is Arousor by Empirical Labs. It happens with others as well, so it's not isolated to this particular plugin.

For those that aren't familiar with this plugin, the parameters are spread across all 8 knobs on 2 pages. You can clearly see in the video how this is not working as it should.

https://app.box.com/s/mx1o4y4ap9wesl8z1ys7yyp4hre174ek

https://app.box.com/s/9v9038t9eebrfocqif8hwy3u0bien6u0
Thank you Sardi, for sharing your experience and provided footage demonstrating the issue.
It is the same as mine, featured in the video i have posted. The only solution thus far, is to revert back to Eucon 18.3 without the need, to downgrade the firmware since it looks like it is irrelevant from our findings. I did it, but the problem now is that PT Control doesn't work with the 18.3 since i updated to the latest version...I don't think i can revert to previous version from the App Store...
Without PT Control you can't use the VCA spill feature (please correct me if i am wrong), which is a must if you have a surface for mixing.
Always something gets broken.....It just gets very annoying dealing with Avid these days...What a drag......


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I change Eucon Layouts with an Artist Mix or Artist Transport? amathie Artist Series 10 09-21-2017 07:29 PM
Eucon sees my Artist Mix as an MC Mix TheDavidLim Artist Series 1 11-29-2016 09:42 PM
Artist Mix/Eucon Problem digitalpapaya Artist Series 0 04-19-2016 12:44 AM
Artist Mix with Eucon 3 very sluggish mrtomcat Artist Series 0 10-02-2013 11:43 PM
Artist Mix freezed , Eucon 2.62 peterle Artist Series 4 09-11-2012 08:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com