Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2019, 12:53 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,156
Default Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Brainworx has released their first in-house developed synth plugin Oberhausen. As might be surmised by the name it's an emulation of an Oberheim SEM. There's a whole lot of Brainworx add-ons to the synth like their TMT, some of their own fx, etc. It's interesting to say the least. Can do some things the original h/w or the Arturia emulation can't.

Now for what sucks. MIDI learn doesn't remember assignments from one patch to another. Say you MIDI learn the overall output level control to cc7 and you change the patch - that assignment is forgotten.

What sucks #2: after about 8 or 9 patch changes PT11.3.2 locks up solid and you need to force quit.

Right now it's demo only with no price shown on the Plugin Alliance website.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2019, 04:35 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Sonically ... How Does it Sound ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2019, 04:42 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,156
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Becharax View Post
Sonically ... How Does it Sound ?
Can't really say because of PT locking up like it did. Maybe someone else will have better luck with it than I. I raised a support ticket about it with PA but am not holding my breath as they rarely fix bugs even when alerted to them by multiple people.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2019, 05:20 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Can't really say because of PT locking up like it did. Maybe someone else will have better luck with it than I. I raised a support ticket about it with PA but am not holding my breath as they rarely fix bugs even when alerted to them by multiple people.
So it ain't running on Pro Tools for now ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2019, 05:27 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,156
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Becharax View Post
So it ain't running on Pro Tools for now ?
It runs but only for a short while until PT locks up after you change patches a few times. If you don't change patches much or often it's okay. But if you're trying to evaluate it and quickly go through patches - that's when problems happen.

edit for additional:
Been able to repeat the lockup when changing patches back and forth to quickly.
Got a new one - Oberhausen goes silent sometimes after changing a patch to another patch when using the up/down patch change arrows.
Overall I'd say this is not yet ready for prime time production use. Thankfully it's what they're callign a 'soft release' with it going on sale on the 16th (day after Tax Day here in the US).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 04-10-2019 at 05:39 AM. Reason: additional problems found
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2019, 12:43 PM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Brainworx has released their first in-house developed synth plugin Oberhausen. As might be surmised by the name it's an emulation of an Oberheim SEM. There's a whole lot of Brainworx add-ons to the synth like their TMT, some of their own fx, etc. It's interesting to say the least. Can do some things the original h/w or the Arturia emulation can't.

Now for what sucks. MIDI learn doesn't remember assignments from one patch to another. Say you MIDI learn the overall output level control to cc7 and you change the patch - that assignment is forgotten.

What sucks #2: after about 8 or 9 patch changes PT11.3.2 locks up solid and you need to force quit.

Right now it's demo only with no price shown on the Plugin Alliance website.



Great tone and features.


Agreed about the MIDI assigments being lost on changing patch


Mine bombed out Pro Tools all together a couple of times (2018 new Session with only this plugin)



Anyhow, my guess is the plugin will be too expensive for a while. I'm afraid even $99 warrants a suite upgrade for several new toys these days.


Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2019, 12:59 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,156
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
Great tone and features.


Agreed about the MIDI assigments being lost on changing patch


Mine bombed out Pro Tools all together a couple of times (2018 new Session with only this plugin)



Anyhow, my guess is the plugin will be too expensive for a while. I'm afraid even $99 warrants a suite upgrade for several new toys these days.


Stephen
I figured out the deal with the MIDI learn assignments - they have to be done for every single bloody patch
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2019, 10:01 AM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 222
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Another product using PT users as beta testers...
__________________
PT 2019.5
PT HDX
Magma ExpressBox3T PCIe Thunderbolt Exp Chassis
Blackmagic Multidock, SSDs
iMac Pro
64 GB ram
OS X Mojave
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2019, 01:30 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,156
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by rinky View Post
Another product using PT users as beta testers...
It's not just PT users getting screwed over. Like many people I use more than one daw; my other one is Digital Performer 9.02. First time I added Oberhausen it crashed the program to the desktop. Ever subsequent try messed up DP's audio engine. So I started a support ticket with PA and heard back from them. They could replicate my problem and the also told me that in DP10 (which is the latest version) they can't even see the vi to add it to a track.


At least we're not paying cash for this crash yet
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2019, 02:18 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Brainworx bx_Oberhausen

Quote:
Originally Posted by rinky View Post
Another product using PT users as beta testers...
To be fair, Plugin Alliance are pretty stable. I have a lot of their products and use them all the time without inherent problems. I'm sure they'll be on top of getting any wrinkles ironed out.

I'm pretty taken with this new synth. I might even have to take it up earlier than normal i.e. when it becomes affordable.

Let's hope the next synth is just as good, if not even better

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brainworx Help Pjano AAX Plug-ins 2 11-29-2014 05:36 PM
Brainworx DSP? Cliffy_Boy AAX Plug-ins 9 09-04-2012 01:13 PM
Brainworx UPdate! K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-26-2010 07:44 PM
anyone using brainworx sbag Tips & Tricks 2 11-12-2008 06:51 AM
brainworx NewVersion K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-16-2007 05:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com