Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2012, 08:19 AM
dhsblue dhsblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default Pro Tools LE7 + M-box2 on Mac OSX 10.4.11

I cannot get ProTools to "see" my Roland PC-200 mkII keyboard. I've tried everything I can think of in terms of settings in MIDI Studio Set-up, but no MIDI signal is getting to the ProTools Midi Track. I've checked leads, and the Roland keyboard speaks perfectly to my JD-990 when patched directly, but not through my M-box. I have set-up the PC-200 in MIDI Studio and linked it to the M-box and have tried ever combination of boxes in "properties" to no avail. When I go to Midi Beat Clock and/or Input Devices the Roland PC-200 is not there to tick!! Help please!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2012, 03:14 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Pro Tools LE7 + M-box2 on Mac OSX 10.4.11

The only way your device is going to show up in Pro Tools or Mac OSX is if it's connected over USB, which i'm fairly sure this device isn't capable of.

If you are connecting to your Mbox 2 via a midi cable then what you need to be selecting in Pro Tools is Mbox 2 Midi port or the like, the Mbox doesn't know whats connected to it, it just receives the midi data and sends it in to Pro Tools.

Pro Tools seven introduced intrument tracks, create one, add your VI as a plugin. Set the input of the track as the Mbox 2 midi port, record arm and boogie.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2012, 09:51 AM
dhsblue dhsblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools LE7 + M-box2 on Mac OSX 10.4.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dougfather View Post
The only way your device is going to show up in Pro Tools or Mac OSX is if it's connected over USB, which i'm fairly sure this device isn't capable of.

If you are connecting to your Mbox 2 via a midi cable then what you need to be selecting in Pro Tools is Mbox 2 Midi port or the like, the Mbox doesn't know whats connected to it, it just receives the midi data and sends it in to Pro Tools.

Pro Tools seven introduced intrument tracks, create one, add your VI as a plugin. Set the input of the track as the Mbox 2 midi port, record arm and boogie.
Thank you for this. However, during my desperate attempts at trying to get the keyboard to be recognised by Midi Studio I managed somehow to delete the Mbox2 icon and now cannot get it back (doh!). Any ideas? - other than trying to find my original ProTools discs which I have not seen since 2008!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools 10/ M-box2 compatibility petehurst macOS 1 03-04-2013 12:13 PM
HOW DO U SYNC A MPC TO THE M BOX2 AND PRO TOOLS scottthafoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-14-2008 10:49 PM
does pro tools le 6.8.1 with m-box1 or only with m-box2? wesley13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-20-2007 12:28 PM
Installing Pro Tools and M-box2 philipsanchez09 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-17-2006 02:21 AM
m-box2 pro tools 6.8.1 consolidate selection zenzomix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-30-2005 03:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com