Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2014, 12:48 PM
ToolRobban ToolRobban is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Default What's the trick to record Internet radio?

Hello!
Anyone out there who has tried to set up the I/O in PT (Express) to make live recordings from Internet?

I want to rout the 'out put' from the internal mixer to my 'input' on an Audio track (wich, I guess, has to have a zero 'out put' to avoid sound-collision?)

Rob
__________________
/Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2014, 12:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,518
Default Re: What's the trick to record Internet radio?

I use a separate computer and feed the audio to my recording computer. Mac users can use Soundflower(I think that's what its called). Keep in mind that most of the audio is copyrighted
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2014, 03:42 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: What's the trick to record Internet radio?

If you're on PC, use VB-Cable, JACK or VAS. Peter Ginneberge has some good videos using JACK with Windows. Hope that helps.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2014, 05:09 PM
DC-Choppah DC-Choppah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 395
Default Re: What's the trick to record Internet radio?

Streaming audio comes out of my mother board sound device and is routed to the main mixer. So it's just an audio source like anything else in the studio. I can record anything that the PC plays.
__________________
DC-Choppah's Project Studio:

ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo /Intel Pro 2 Quad Core-rackmount PC
Windows 7 professional 64 bit
Pro-Tools 11.3.1
AIR Instrument Expansion Pack v2
WAVES Platinum plugin bundle
M-AUDIO FastTrack ULTRA 8R Interface
Roland RD-300 / Novation XiO Keyboards
Mackie 12 channel Analog Mixer
Adam A8X monitors

Estonia Parlor Grand Piano
Yamaha Studio Drum kit

https://soundcloud.com/dc-choppah
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2014, 12:50 AM
ToolRobban ToolRobban is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Default Re: What's the trick to record Internet radio?

Ok, this is what I'm wondering about.
I know a little how to rout sounds between AUX:es and Audios and Midis. But if I want to rout my laptops mic or sound to an AUX then I'm lost.
__________________
/Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2014, 01:19 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: What's the trick to record Internet radio?

Alternative : http://www.stationripper.com/
Import afterwards into PT.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2014, 04:14 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: What's the trick to record Internet radio?

Or, you can check this out...

http://www.nch.com.au/soundtap/index...FRAaOgodvS0AvQ

I don't own this, but I do own "Switch" from the same company and it's great...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2014, 05:13 AM
ToolRobban ToolRobban is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Default Re: What's the trick to record Internet radio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
Alternative : http://www.stationripper.com/
Import afterwards into PT.
A friend of mine is a radio host, I just wanted to suprise him with a rearanged show :)
__________________
/Bob
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-25-2014, 08:01 AM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: What's the trick to record Internet radio?

I use an spdif loop. Set the audio on my spdif to mirror output 1-2 and set protools to record the spdif and mute the Chanel while recording. Works like a charm. Or if fidelity is not as important you can feed 1-2 analog to 3-4 in using patch cables and record that. Also works well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording internet radio to a hard drive? K.B. General Discussion 21 07-07-2006 06:16 PM
Internet Digital Radio into MBox. How ? tpthai2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-15-2005 02:08 PM
Ancient History (Internet radio anyone???)....... cutsville General Discussion 0 04-17-2005 05:02 AM
Recording internet radio? K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 12-26-2004 10:14 AM
Internet Radio... K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 11-14-2004 04:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com