Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-20-2020, 11:10 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,527
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

1) already mentioned MTRX Studio is not released yet
2) reasoned that vaporware specs are not available for obvious reasons
3) asked a question WHAT NUMBERS would make MTRX Studio look good to you
4) still waiting for your answer

What is so hard to understand here?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #32  
Old 03-20-2020, 11:13 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,527
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by corp View Post
You posted the above and now your changing what you are asking.
No. Just trying to let you understand what he likely meant with those "magic numbers" that seemed to disturb you.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #33  
Old 03-20-2020, 11:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,527
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

Just for example, for god's sake tell us something like "If the MTRX Studio has 144dB(A) dynamic range I'm going to order two right away".
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #34  
Old 03-20-2020, 11:16 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,527
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by corp View Post
If the specs of the MTRX Studio compares to the MTRX then I will consider it to the Apogee unit.
Post #5, "there is no reason to believe MTRX studio is any different"
Post #12, "Maybe they're not listed since it's not finished and released yet?"

So if you don't like to

Post #7, "Ask your favourite Avid sales rep"

Then you'll just need to wait until it is released.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #35  
Old 03-20-2020, 11:39 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 500
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

It has been reported from DAD that the circuit is different from MTRX so it could very well have different specs. But given DAD's track record I find it hard to believe it will be anything less than pristine. Unless Avid's accountants take over

The only spec I usually pay attention to is the gain range for a mic pre. I don't own a Behringer interface but I could knock out a good mix on one. The standards for A/D/A are pretty high now so you're much more likely to get a terrible driver than noticeably bad conversion. I agree there is a difference between a $300 interface and a $3000 interface. But once you get into that top tier I just don't see any meaningful difference in spec other than what you can see on measurement equipment.

I'd bet you can't find what you're looking for because it's not released. If you do call Avid ask them why they couldn't integrate the HD Thunderbolt into the box so you could connect straight to the computer. Or make the interface a card swap, either Digilink or Thunderbolt. It's such a waste having what amounts to a huge dongle between the computer and MTRX Studio. (If you're not on HDX of course)
__________________
~Will
  #36  
Old 03-28-2020, 06:48 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 644
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by corp View Post
I did contact Avid through email support and haven't received a reply.:roll eyes:

MTRX and MTRX Studio are going to be very different.......just looking at the A/D D/A are different (384k compared to 192k).



Still waiting When is going to be released?

Last edited by corp; 03-28-2020 at 06:54 PM. Reason: lost connection
  #37  
Old 03-28-2020, 07:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,539
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by corp View Post
Still waiting When is going to be released?
Given that its most likely built in China, that probably means its going to be a lot later than all of us hoped for
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
  #38  
Old 03-29-2020, 10:54 AM
ntp-jl's Avatar
ntp-jl ntp-jl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 35
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Given that its most likely built in China, that probably means its going to be a lot later than all of us hoped for
The MTRX Studio is certainly not made in China. It is made in Denmark, in the exact same building where the MTRX is made.
__________________
Jan Lykke
Business Development Manager
DAD - Digital Audio Denmark
  #39  
Old 03-29-2020, 10:58 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,842
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntp-jl View Post
The MTRX Studio is certainly not made in China. It is made in Denmark, in the exact same building where the MTRX is made.
And since denmark has shut down and people working from home we may have a long wait.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
  #40  
Old 03-29-2020, 11:17 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,539
Default Re: Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntp-jl View Post
The MTRX Studio is certainly not made in China. It is made in Denmark, in the exact same building where the MTRX is made.
That's good news! Apologies for my incorrect assumption.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Studio - No AES?! Ryan Young Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 02-23-2020 02:13 PM
MTRX Studio i/o Cheesehead Post - Surround - Video 6 01-31-2020 09:15 AM
WTB: Avid MTRX DHS Buy & Sell 0 05-19-2019 01:59 PM
TMC-1 Penta AVID MTRX (AX32) TomLewis Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 3 02-15-2017 06:48 PM
Avid MTRX Rpro System 5 2 10-12-2016 07:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com