Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2013, 08:12 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Early 2008 Macbook Pro and Pro Tools 10, question for any one who has or used this

I have an opportunity to purchase a Early 2008 Macbook Pro for cheap, 2GB Ram , nothing special. Do you guys think it would successfully run PT 10 for let's say a session with about 15 tracks, minimal effects, no VI's. Just for mixing and editing audio, print automation on the go sort of thing. I'm not looking to replace my studio computer, or score movies on it, but I don't want to waist money on something that won't even run PT at least minimally. Unfortunately I don't have a benchmark to go by in this department, nor can I afford to buy a better machine right now. Any thoughts would be very appreciated. It is approved by Avid, but will it actually cause more headaches than it's worth?
Thanks
Neil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2013, 03:04 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Early 2008 Macbook Pro and Pro Tools 10, question for any one who has or used thi

Maybe I worded the title poorly,(well I'm pretty sure it could have been better) or no one actually has an opinion. I think I might do a coin toss and make the decision. Lol. Or let my wife decide.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2013, 03:37 PM
tmitchell tmitchell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 106
Default Re: Early 2008 Macbook Pro and Pro Tools 10, question for any one who has or used thi

PT10 requires a minimum of 4GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2013, 03:56 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Early 2008 Macbook Pro and Pro Tools 10, question for any one who has or used thi

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmitchell View Post
PT10 requires a minimum of 4GB RAM
I think 4gb is recommended but 2 gb is required. But no worries they sold it on me so now I'm gonna try and step it up to a newer model any way. Thanks for the input. I think the first thing I would have done would've been to add 2 more anyway.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 IslandStylee04 Pro Tools 11 56 07-31-2014 04:22 PM
Early 2008 PT11 and mavericks postprosound macOS 8 04-13-2014 05:34 PM
HD3 PCIe in Mac Pro 3,1 early 2008 tonwurm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 04-27-2013 01:41 AM
HDX on early 2008 Mac Pro 8 Core.... no go ? :-( Zownd Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 12-27-2011 04:04 PM
Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native? DJ FADE Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 11-01-2011 05:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com