Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #251  
Old 09-24-2012, 04:18 AM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 88
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

The chipset has native support for PCI.
It's outlined in the user manual and I called Gigabyte tech support to confirm that as well.
There should be no reason the Digidesign cards would not work.
They are PCI based, not PCIx as we all know.
The problem I see is that only 2 cards will fit on the MB.
Slots 3 & 4 are in direct line with the MB beat sink so some modification will be needed to run HD3 or HD4.
I'm going to wait a month or so before I start this new build.
Hopefully by then there will be support on the tonyMac site for this MB.
I think going from HD3 to HD4 with an extra 16Gb of ram is worth the effort here. As PT is now basically ram based, this will help with large sessions and the extra DSP will help with the TDM plugins which I like to use.
By the fall there may even be a faster CPU available.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 09-24-2012, 04:25 AM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 88
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

The CPU would be Ivybridge and that shouldn't be an issue.
It's all about native support of the PCI bus on the MB.
From everything I've read this MB should work fine with the Mac OS & PT.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 09-24-2012, 07:49 PM
Bill Rigby Bill Rigby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 188
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Uh oh......

The problem I see is that only 2 cards will fit on the MB.
Slots 3 & 4 are in direct line with the MB beat sink so some modification will be needed to run HD3 or HD4.

Physically modifying the motherboard makes me nervous as I have no experience this and I may trash it...... any tips or should I try for the Jetaway option.......
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:53 PM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 88
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Bill, if you are PC savy and can follow the build notes docmented somewhere in this thread than try the Jetway MB. You will get an HD3 system.
HD4 is unproven as of yet. I have no PC skills and cannot follow the instructions.
That's why I'm waiting for Multibeast kext support on the tonyMac site.

As for modifying the Gigabyte MB, well I've read it has been done successfully.
You first mark where cuts need to be made in the heat sink to accomodate the length on the longer PCIx boards.
Then you remove the heats ink, modify with a dremel and reattach with thermal compound. That procedure is the same as attaching a CPU.
After all it's just a heat sink.
This is done as a primer step before anything else.

The other mod option is to remove the extra teeth at the end of Digi PCI card.
The ones that do not go into the MB socket. They are not used so you just carefully saw them off with a dremel.
Again I've read this has been done successfully here in this thread or another.
Now the cost of the MB is about $100US.
The cost of an Acell card is around $500US + or - on eBay.
I am going to modify the MB. It's the lesser of two evils.

Good luck and post what you do and your success when completed.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 09-27-2012, 04:09 PM
fatcode fatcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 73
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Ok, so I'm reporting here success with the Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3 Motherboard for a HD3 system running Mountain Lion. Big thanks to aaquilato for helping out and suggesting this MOBO.

I was getting error -9162 so I had to move the core card around in different slots but got there in the end. The 192 is now connected via an Accell card. I had a few editing/mixing sessions in the past days and all was well.

The only thing not working is the USB 3. Apparently to get the two USB 3 ports to work the NEC controller on the MOBO need updating to the latest version.

You can get a HD3 on the Jetway, as I reported it works with 10.6.8, very stable; I didn't manage to get it to work with Lion or Mountain Lion as reported elsewhere but I'm not sure if there is much interest in this forum to go to 10.7 or 10.8.

Between the two, unless you're after 32GB of memory, a slightly faster CPU and want to give it a shot with HD4, I would go for the Gigabyte boards as the edited DSDTs make life a lot easier.
__________________
GA-H55-USB3
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD|3

Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
i5-750
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD 'Native' (no cards)
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 09-30-2012, 12:53 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatcode View Post
The 192 is now connected via an Accell card.
Strange, I always thought you absolutely needed to have your interface connected to the core card
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 09-30-2012, 01:10 PM
aaquilato aaquilato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Franklin TN
Posts: 88
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Yes, I'd have to agree. The core card is always the FIRST connection according to Avid's documentation.
But hey.... if it's not broke don't fix it.
;-)

Happy to hear the good news.
__________________
AQ.


Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT10.3.7 HD4 PCIx (TDM & Native)
Mac OSX ML 10.8.4 running PT11.2 Native
Mac OSX Y 10.10.5 (MBP)
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 10-18-2012, 05:21 PM
fatcode fatcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 73
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Anyone (Europe based) looking for a Hack that runs HD 2 ?

It's pretty much the price of the components + the Mod G5 case...I'm willing to take offers

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1408688249...84.m1555.l2649
__________________
GA-H55-USB3
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD|3

Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
i5-750
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD 'Native' (no cards)
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 10-18-2012, 06:25 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatcode View Post
Anyone (Europe based) looking for a Hack that runs HD 2 ?

It's pretty much the price of the components + the Mod G5 case...I'm willing to take offers

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1408688249...84.m1555.l2649
Pretty cool that you have it in a G5 chassis, where did you get the idea? Did you do it yourself?
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 10-19-2012, 03:17 AM
fatcode fatcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 73
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

There is a section on tonymacx86 with G5 Mods. The g5 case is great...plenty of space. I couldn't stand those PC gamer cases with lights etc... I've made two and I'm selling this one with the Pro Tools hack.
__________________
GA-H55-USB3
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD|3

Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
i5-750
SSD 120GB
Mountain Lion 10.8
Pro Tools HD 'Native' (no cards)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh for Pro Tools 7 - 7.4 anybody ? zavid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-19-2014 04:51 PM
Hackintosh Problem pocketcalc Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 07-08-2012 05:35 PM
Hackintosh with PT9 HD Native? PMedia Pro Tools Software (Mac) 9 07-11-2011 09:12 AM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 03:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com