Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #131  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:36 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,023
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Do we like this Fractal Design case? Watch the video!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811352007

or even better, this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811352015
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 05-30-2012, 12:12 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,023
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Hey Jetway guys -- anyone using the mSATA port for an SSD?

I am a little concerned that the Jetway mobo is not the perfect fit for my build...

*only* 5 SATA ports (+ the mSATA)
no firewire
no optical audio
DVI will not drive a 30" display at 2560x1600 (I presume this is a limitation of the chipset, not the mobo - but DisplayPort will drive one 30" screen, right?)

yes, it has 4 PCI slots - but the remaining 3 PCIe slots will have to go to:

1. GPU. I am trying to find a "silent" no-fan GPU that will drive 2x DVI @ 2560x1600. Any ideas?
2. Firewire (drivers?)
3. eSATA card? (maybe find a card that has internal SATA and external eSATA? drivers?)

I guess I will need an audio card to get system audio output to s/pdif optical? I presume so... so should I run a PCI soundcard to do S/PDIF side-by-side with 3 HD PCI cards?

Pardon the noob aspects of my questions -- but I get the boot stuff and how the hackintosh works... but I am not sure how the OS can talk to the other devices -- have you guys added eSATA and Firewire cards?

I so want to hit the buy button. I am amazed that I can spec quality parts for so little $.

Would it be better to take this discussion to the tonymacx86 forum?
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 06-02-2012, 08:09 PM
temetrepo temetrepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 221
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

GPU-> http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121422
You'll lose a pcie slot with this one as the heatsink is huge

Firewire -> http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815124072
Works OOB, no drivers needed

eSata-> http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-PCI-E-SA...item256390bef3

Also works OOB, and it's bootable too. Most of the other eSata cards cannot boot Mac OSX.

For an optical out you can use one of ese
http://www.amazon.com/Turtle-Beach-A...8692996&sr=8-1
__________________
Originally Posted by JustinA
"Soon" as in we should be refreshing our browsers, or "soon" as in ADC coming to LE?
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 06-06-2012, 08:46 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,023
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyroberts View Post
Do we like this Fractal Design case? Watch the video!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811352007

or even better, this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811352015
NO! We DO NOT like green eggs and ham.
The R3 may be a quiet, and beautiful case -- but the area from the card slot to the drive cage is about 11-7/8" -- HD cards are 12-3/8"

f*ck

I was really digging the R3 case -- and it is perfect for a studio (without HD cards).

OK guys, which case is the sure thing? Microcenter needs to have this in stock...

PS -- the rest of the build is totally solid. FINALLY found a video card (EVGA GT520), and the firewire card worked OOB.

Why is there so little talk about ATX cases? Yikes! Help?
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:08 PM
temetrepo temetrepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 221
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

I used this one, but has the same problem as the R3. Had to remove the caddies that wre aligned to the slots where the cards were in. Good thing it has a lot of HDD caddies so it wasn't really an issue.

http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0361306
__________________
Originally Posted by JustinA
"Soon" as in we should be refreshing our browsers, or "soon" as in ADC coming to LE?
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 06-08-2012, 03:32 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,023
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Thanks temetrepo.

I found this case at Microcenter --

http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0383858

Antec P280

There was a very favorable review on this model at SilentPC

http://www.silentpcreview.com/Antec_P280

I am THRILLED with the P280 case!!!! Compared to the Fractal R3, it's like moving from a studio apartment to a mansion. The noise-abatement properties of the Antec are not as tricky or obvious as the Fractal (Fractal has lots of internal padding and treatment), but the quality of the fans and placement seems to be very intelligent - and the Antec has fan speed switches... I am very satisfied with the quiet of this case -- I can now lose the isoraxx!

We are now cooking with gas!

http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic....394670#p394670
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 06-08-2012, 08:43 AM
temetrepo temetrepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 221
Default

Nice case. Good to hear you're rocking now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Originally Posted by JustinA
"Soon" as in we should be refreshing our browsers, or "soon" as in ADC coming to LE?
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 06-08-2012, 11:38 AM
DownrightBass DownrightBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Back to the iLok issue. I had the same problem on my Hack (PT9 LE on 10.6.8). Thanks to TravisDRS for pointing me in the right direction. It was not an iLok or USB problem; it was network related.

Open About This Mac under apple menu and click More Info... Click on Ethernet Cards. Look for BSD name. If the value is anything other than en0, Pro Tools gets very confused.

My problem was that I hadn't installed the onboard ethernet in my Hackintosh, so my AirPort card was set to en0. I installed the ethernet (in my case using Lnx2Mac's Realtek driver in Multibeast) and reset en1 to en0 by first removing all services from System Preferences/Network, then deleting NetworkInterfaces.plist from Library/Preferences/System Configuration. The plist was rebuilt on reboot, and voila, Pro Tools 9 opens as fast as it does on my MacBook Pro.

Hope this helps someone.

EX-X58A-UD3R rev 2.0 bios FF
i7-950
Asus EN8400GS
6GB Corsair RAM
WD Black 500GB & 1TB HDDs
Corsair TX650 PS
OS X 10.6.8 64-bit
PT 9.0.6
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 06-10-2012, 03:43 PM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

Hi all,

Just want to put a quick note that I tested Pro Tools 10.2 HD4 Accel on the jetway with OS 10.7.4 (64 bit kernel). No probs so far.
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 06-10-2012, 03:46 PM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: New Hackintosh / PT7 monster HD PCI Rig

This is interesting:
http://www.jetwaycomputer.com/NAF93.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh for Pro Tools 7 - 7.4 anybody ? zavid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-19-2014 04:51 PM
Hackintosh Problem pocketcalc Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 07-08-2012 05:35 PM
Hackintosh with PT9 HD Native? PMedia Pro Tools Software (Mac) 9 07-11-2011 09:12 AM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 03:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com