Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2010, 12:54 PM
Mista808 Mista808 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40
Default Upgrade to Pro Tools 8 (with upgrade dvd) asking for Auth code? (HELP)

I've done this with another machine (crashed) and now I have a new computer (well used but new to me) It has Windows XP on it and I just got done installing Pro Tools 8 (UPGRADE DVD) I don't recall the DVD upgrade coming with a authorization code but after install/restart it's asking me for the authorization code.

It says it can be found in the "getting started guide" which I didn't get with the pro tools upgrade, only with the 7.0 that I have. It also says In Software upgrades it can be found in the inside cover of the "Upgrading to Pro Tools Guide."

I don't have either... the DVD upgrade only came with the Pro Tools 8 DVD, and then the other DVD for bundled software.

I'm not sure how to get this installed now? I don't recall ever having an authorization code for the Pro Tools 8 upgrade DVD I have. WHAT TO DO?



PS - I bought this PT 8 upgrade DVD back in November, and it let me install it just fine on the computer that I had that crashed last month. I don't ever remember having to enter an Auth code.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2010, 12:58 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Upgrade to Pro Tools 8 (with upgrade dvd) asking for Auth code? (HELP)

Did you try installing 7.0 first then using the upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2010, 01:31 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,684
Default Re: Upgrade to Pro Tools 8 (with upgrade dvd) asking for Auth code? (HELP)

Don't install 7.0 first if you're going to go with 8. 8 requires you to UNINSTALL previous versions anyway and you'll just be wasting your time. 8, even though it's called an upgrade, is a full installer that requires that no previous versions are in place.
Did you register your product? Set up a "my digi" account? You should be able to retrieve your code there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2010, 01:40 PM
DeyBwah DeyBwah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 560
Default Re: Upgrade to Pro Tools 8 (with upgrade dvd) asking for Auth code? (HELP)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mista808 View Post
I've done this with another machine (crashed) and now I have a new computer (well used but new to me) It has Windows XP on it and I just got done installing Pro Tools 8 (UPGRADE DVD) I don't recall the DVD upgrade coming with a authorization code but after install/restart it's asking me for the authorization code.

It says it can be found in the "getting started guide" which I didn't get with the pro tools upgrade, only with the 7.0 that I have. It also says In Software upgrades it can be found in the inside cover of the "Upgrading to Pro Tools Guide."

I don't have either... the DVD upgrade only came with the Pro Tools 8 DVD, and then the other DVD for bundled software.

I'm not sure how to get this installed now? I don't recall ever having an authorization code for the Pro Tools 8 upgrade DVD I have. WHAT TO DO?



PS - I bought this PT 8 upgrade DVD back in November, and it let me install it just fine on the computer that I had that crashed last month. I don't ever remember having to enter an Auth code.
If you registered your copy, you can log in here and it should have all your auth codes.
__________________
"One should not pursue goals that are easily achieved. One must develop an instinct for what one can just barely achieve through one's greatest efforts."
-Albert Einstein

Windows 7 - Reaper 3 - Lynx Aurora 16 - RME HDSPe AES - DigiMax FS - Eureka - Axiom Pro - Yamaha HS80Ms + HS10W Sub
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auth Code lost in upgrade? TrevorFWiggins 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-30-2010 11:27 PM
HELP Downloaded Pro Tools Upgrade, Code No Where to Be Found chillax69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-04-2008 08:17 AM
Need Auth code for downloaded 6.4 upgrade Where??? H. Vincent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-13-2005 05:46 AM
Help!!!! 6.2.2 to 6.4 upgrade!!! auth code!! Pettenatti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-30-2005 01:19 AM
LE 6.4 upgrade auth code? validate? bonehead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-01-2005 09:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com