Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2009, 06:15 PM
bontay bontay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Default Moving song sections (beginner's question)

Does anyone out there know how to create a space between sections of a song? I want to insert a moment of silence in between parts and can't figure out how to do it! Unfortunately "Insert Silence" doesn't do it...

Thanks!

B
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2009, 06:21 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Moving song sections (beginner's question)

Insert strip silence maybe
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2009, 06:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,488
Default Re: Moving song sections (beginner's question)

Group all your tracks, place a cut on any track and drag the regions after the cut to the right. The ALL group will make the action happen to ALL tracks at once.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2009, 06:27 PM
bontay bontay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Moving song sections (beginner's question)

Great, thanks! There is one catch that I forgot to mention, though - the tempo changes in the second section......how do I make it so that the tempo from that moment to the rest of the song is attached to the cut?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2009, 06:29 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Moving song sections (beginner's question)

Does the tempo change back to the 1st tempo @ any point? & really, u can just drag the temp marker...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2009, 06:44 PM
bontay bontay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Moving song sections (beginner's question)

Well, it's actually a very complicated song tempo-wise. It changes with each section. There are seven tempo changes or something so it would be very difficult to line everything up to the marker that I move if it's not on the grid....Is there no way to connect tempo to regions or vice versa?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2009, 07:02 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Moving song sections (beginner's question)

Why do u need strip silence? jus askin...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2009, 07:07 PM
bontay bontay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Moving song sections (beginner's question)

To tell you the truth I don't know what strip silence is! I just need there to be a quiet break between two sections in a song that are currently right after one another on a grid with changing tempo. I can't figure out how to move sections without throwing the rest of the song of the tempo map....very frustrating and my deadline is tomorrow! Eeesh
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2009, 07:18 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Moving song sections (beginner's question)

Well thatz why I'm asking... Are the songs connected rite now? (for lack of a better word) if not, jus mute everything in between & I don't think, although I'm not 100% sure because I don't use Strip Silence, but I don't think they add to the timeline but don't quote me on that...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2009, 02:05 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,322
Default Re: Moving song sections (beginner's question)

Am I missing something, can't you just copy an empty bar and past it at will, moving everything including the intact timeline forward?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beginner's Macbookpro and Pro Tools question nickmadsen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 12-20-2010 04:33 PM
Question about moving Song Start time johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-28-2009 02:51 PM
Beginner's question bontay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-24-2008 02:51 PM
Recording Drums for a song in sections? analogboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-01-2007 09:18 AM
Advise : Insert & rearrange song sections easily Muxlow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-23-2003 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com