Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2009, 01:25 PM
bontay bontay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Default Consolodation

Hey everyone,

Is there a way to UNconsolodate a region after it's been consolodated to gain access to the seperate parts again? I noticed some editing errors and want to fix fades in the original regions. Is this possible without having noted the names of each individual region making up the whole?

B
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2009, 01:28 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Consolodation

go back to the playlist you made before you consolidated your edits.

__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2009, 01:38 PM
bontay bontay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Consolodation

There is no other playlist...I just replaced what was there with the consolidated file....is there a way of finding the original regions in the region list?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2009, 03:37 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,487
Default Re: Consolodation

Can you open an earlier version of the session by going into the backup session file folder(this assumes you have Auto Backup turned on) so you might find a version before you consolidated the track? If you CVAN find a version with the un-consolidated audio, you could(in theory anyway) go back to your latest version and select import session data, and choose the track from the earlier version. I also believe its possible to re-spot regions by their time stamp(but I don't know how to do it) so you could restore some of the individual regions and redo the edits. This is a good reason to save multiple versions of any session(like save when all tracking is done, then when you start editing, save as "song edited", "song tuned", etc.).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2009, 05:46 PM
critza critza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 355
Default Re: Consolodation

Dont know if you are on Mac or PC but the grouping feature is great when molding regions together, and not wanting to use alot of hdd space.
The grouped regions still have the same abilities as the consolidated region (u can use fades) but it does not count the space in between as an audio region, hence not taking up hdd space as a wave file. On PC it is Ctrl+Alt+G after choosing the regions you want to "consolidate/group" and then the same command to ungroup it.
You can also group several regions from different tracks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com