Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-20-2015, 06:51 AM

Default Moving to HD Native from HD3 - Advice needed on tracking and system specs

Hi,

I've been a Pro Tools HD user for a number of years now (HD3 accel system running PT8 HD) but the time has come to migrate over to HD Native. I was going to go over to HDx, but it's just too much money. What ever I go for will be Mac based with a HD Native PCIe card or Thunderbolt interface and my I/O will be through my Omni and 192.

My questions are around tracking with plug ins, headphone mixes/aux sends and what kind of track count / number of plug ins I can expect to get from a Native system.

Tracking with Native
When I record I'm used to tracking with a TDM SSL E Channel on every track, a few people I've spoken to have said they have no issues tracking with plugins, but how do you run RTAS plugs whilst a track is recording (In PT 8 HD RTAS plugs are bypassed when a track is record enabled)?

What's the latency like in Native with multiple sends for headphone mixes? I usually run a couple of headphone mixes through 2 aux's, which I then send to my headphone amps out of two stereo outputs.

How solid is Native at tracking up to 20 channels at once? Everyone I've spoken to so far has reported they've had no issues and they all regularly track between 16-24 at a time with no issues.

System Performance / Track Count / Plug In Count
My biggest worry about changing my setup is spending a load of money on a system that is going to be less usable than the one I have now. My main reason for upgrading is being able to take advantage of the extra voices when I install PT10.