Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2019, 04:32 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 162
Default Temporary Markers

Hi forum,

how do you generally handle this situation?

You are in a scene in the timeline and then you temporarily want to have a look at/copy something from another scene, but know that you want to go back to the exact same position later?

How do you mark this point in the session?
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2019, 04:38 AM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 241
Default Re: Temporary Markers

I usually do run through and place all my markers before I start working, while I'm having a look through. If I need a temp marker I just add it at the end of the list and give it a name I'll recognise then if having it left there is messy I delete it when I've finished with it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2019, 06:16 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,097
Default Re: Temporary Markers

For convenience, I use marker #3 as my floating bookmark.

period-3-enter puts it where you want it. period-3-period will take you back to it. Obviously, you could use any marker, but that one is in the lower right corner, next to the enter key.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2019, 06:45 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,613
Default Re: Temporary Markers

When I'm in a hurry and need a temp marker, I just give it a quickly-typed gibberish name (like knsvoi9oy) so I can easily find it later to delete.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2019, 07:05 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 162
Default Re: Temporary Markers

Nathaniel, using marker 3 is an amazing idea! Thanks.
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2019, 08:09 AM
Leverson Leverson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 142
Default Re: Temporary Markers

For temp markers or when I'm flagging an area I have a question about I'll often use *** or ### at the start of the name so it's easy to scroll through the markers list and see them in the crowd.

If I need to temporarily mark my place I sometimes will place a cut in the video guide track. It's easy to click on the track and jump right back to the frame where the cut is. Then when I'm done I heal the video edit and move along
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2019, 01:13 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,613
Default Re: Temporary Markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leverson View Post
... a cut in the video guide track...
wow cool !!!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2019, 07:30 AM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Temporary Markers

I use marker zero--actually #999, but you can get it with .0enter and .0. on the keypad.

sent from a stupid phone using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-24-2019, 10:18 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 162
Default Re: Temporary Markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingTor View Post
I use marker zero--actually #999, but you can get it with .0enter and .0. on the keypad.

sent from a stupid phone using Tapatalk
That is the coolest thing in the universe
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-25-2019, 01:15 AM
FlorianE FlorianE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Zurich
Posts: 301
Default Re: Temporary Markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingTor View Post
.0enter and .0. on the keypad.
Great!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temporary Downgrade 8dB.co.uk Windows 6 02-24-2014 12:41 PM
Beat Markers Appearing As Elastic Audio Markers Fabdickson Pro Tools 9 1 03-06-2012 05:03 PM
Best way to make a temporary authorization exit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-22-2007 10:58 PM
temporary amnesia-please help djdredd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-08-2004 08:12 AM
new temporary board jimmykirk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-17-2002 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com