Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-25-2019, 08:05 AM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Temporary Markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by @tention View Post
That is the coolest thing in the universe
I think I'll start calling it absolute zero.

sent from a stupid phone using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-27-2019, 08:07 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Temporary Markers

Slightly related...

Your clipboard can hold timecode as well as audio and midi simultaneously.

Any old farts who were weaned on the AMS Audiofile (when Pro Tools was a little but a Mac dream) will remember “grabtime”. To replicate this in PT, go to your location and then press “*” to enter the counter (in timecode ofvourse, then press “control” & “c” to copy this tc to the clipboard. Then you can whizz off in the timeline to wherever you want to copy your effect from, when you have found it, press “c” to copy that region to the clipboard, then press “*” to re-enter the counter, press “control” & “v” to paste the timecode of where you wanted it to go, then when you are there you can press “v” to just paste the region to the timeline.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-27-2019, 09:13 AM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Temporary Markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
Your clipboard can hold timecode as well as audio and midi simultaneously.
I stumbled upon that when setting up a session for the whole feature from reels. Big time saver, and eliminates another place for errors.

Quote:
Any old farts who were weaned on the AMS Audiofile (when Pro Tools was a little but a Mac dream)...
I saw AMS at my first AES, but was using the WaveFrame at the time.

Old farts unite!


sent from a stupid phone using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-03-2019, 01:35 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 160
Default Re: Temporary Markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
Slightly related...
Your clipboard can hold timecode as well as audio and midi simultaneously.
It is getting bettter and better...Thanks everyone for these amazing workflow tips.
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-03-2019, 10:02 AM
J_Harry J_Harry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: Temporary Markers

While tracking scripts, I usually use "|" (shift+ \) to indicate a take or a cut or an edit. That way you can easily see what can be deleted later on in the marker list if you are done with these. Anything worth while I usually use three numbers so the auto-create doesn't get close. Example being Print master time selection+Track selections is 999. Use an edit book mark as well at 99
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-19-2019, 08:09 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,097
Default Re: Temporary Markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingTor View Post
I use marker zero--actually #999, but you can get it with .0enter and .0. on the keypad.

sent from a stupid phone using Tapatalk
Thanks KingTor! This is better than #3, since you'll almost never use #999.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temporary Downgrade 8dB.co.uk Windows 6 02-24-2014 12:41 PM
Beat Markers Appearing As Elastic Audio Markers Fabdickson Pro Tools 9 1 03-06-2012 05:03 PM
Best way to make a temporary authorization exit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-22-2007 10:58 PM
temporary amnesia-please help djdredd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-08-2004 08:12 AM
new temporary board jimmykirk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-17-2002 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com