Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2013, 08:28 PM
DaddySaysSoooooo DaddySaysSoooooo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 8
Default Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

Does it matter? This is for a desktop. Clearly all laptops nowadays are wireless. So is wired better or the same as wired for my desktop as far as anything affecting recording?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2013, 06:50 AM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

Your best bet is to not have the recording computer connected to the internet at all. Read the pro tools windows optimizations. I believe one of them is to disable the network adapter. Also you should disable anti-virus software, as it may interfere with PT. If you have to have the computer connected to the internet, do not have it connected while using PT.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2013, 08:12 AM
Pinball Wizard Pinball Wizard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland USA
Posts: 181
Default Re: Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

+1
I have 2 computers in each room. One runs PT and is not connected to any network. The other is connected for internet use and everything else.
__________________
Main Workstation: Pro Tools 2018, Windows 10, HP Z440 Xeon 6 core Broadwell 3.6GHz, 32 GB DDR4, Omni, Sync HD, UAD 2 PCIe card

Edit Room: Pro Tools 8LE 8.0.5, Windows 10, HP Z400 Xeon 6 core 12 GB DDR3, Eleven R, UAD 2 PCIe card

Both systems old & previously Avid qualified
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2013, 09:58 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,186
Default Re: Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

The Optimizations recommend using the most recent driver for your network adapter, but if you get DAE errors, try disabling the network adapter. Wireless adapters are know to cause issues, so I'd definitely not use them. My DAW is connected to the internet, I run Antivirus software, and I have no issues running Pro Tools.
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2013, 11:01 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,593
Default Re: Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

I've always had my PT rig on the 'net so I can upload to my FTP. But that's the ONLY thing it's ever on for. Never had an issue with it in 15 years.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2013, 11:54 AM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
The Optimizations recommend using the most recent driver for your network adapter, but if you get DAE errors, try disabling the network adapter. Wireless adapters are know to cause issues, so I'd definitely not use them. My DAW is connected to the internet, I run Antivirus software, and I have no issues running Pro Tools.
+1
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2013, 01:46 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

For any type of professional use, a dedicated computer for audio is definitely recommended.

I have been using PT as a hobbyist for a long time & have never had any problems with running the internet (both wireless & non wireless) on the same computer as PT. I also use Anti Virus software which I created an 'Exception' in for Pro Tools within that software.

Baring in mind that AV program runs in background using resources I disable it for any larger PT session.

I suspect whether or not network connections have any impact on PT depends on individual computer components/configuration since some people have problems while others don't. Personally I believe if you have an internet connection that doesn't effect Pro Tools, then it shouldn't matter whether or not it is a wireless connection.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro

Last edited by zedhed; 04-20-2013 at 01:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2013, 01:56 PM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinball Wizard View Post
+1
I have 2 computers in each room. One runs PT and is not connected to any network. The other is connected for internet use and everything else.
Sorry, but that sounds overly ridiculous. And I don't mean that in your direction.
If I had to use 2 computers in order to be able to run PT and have an internet connection, I would laugh in a glass, seal it, set it on fire and throw it into the room with the two computers.

It's 2013, not 1993 anymore. Someone should come up with a solution, so an active internet connection does not interfere with any kind of software anymore.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2013, 03:29 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,593
Default Re: Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

Again, I have my PT rig on the 'net, and could PROBABLY do everything I need with just it. BUT. One lousy virus wipes out EVERYTHING. I have NORMAN anti-virus, which works well and stays out of the way, but I did have one sneak right past it on my backup computer and pretty much wipe out everything. Not willing to take the chance again. This isn't a software interference issue, it's a SAFETY choice.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2013, 04:43 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Wireless internet or wired recording computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
My DAW is connected to the internet, I run Antivirus software, and I have no issues running Pro Tools.
+1

When a very picky high paying client request a change, you make it then they request another change, and this happens several times with the deadline starring you in the face, and you are just one producer working in your boxers in your project studio, (for me in this case), it makes more sense to have an Internet connection on the same computer as PT. This way I can quickly send the file. It hasn't been a problem for me.

OP, wireless simply provides the convenience of, well, not having any wires. (Who wants a cable attached to their laptop while surfing the WWW on the patio). With wired or wireless (particularly on PC) a firewall and virus protection are needed. Also, with either you may need to disable the Internet while running PT on your system. So, to answer your question, it doesn't matter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
Again, I have my PT rig on the 'net, and could PROBABLY do everything I need with just it. BUT. One lousy virus wipes out EVERYTHING. I have NORMAN anti-virus, which works well and stays out of the way, but I did have one sneak right past it on my backup computer and pretty much wipe out everything. Not willing to take the chance again. This isn't a software interference issue, it's a SAFETY choice.
Wanna know why I don't get viruses on my PCs? It is safer to watch x sites on a Mac.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any latency in wireless Key Board/Mouse vs Wired? rockguitarist1255 Tips & Tricks 9 04-15-2013 10:23 AM
Dedicated Recording Computer On The Internet jumpnblues 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-11-2007 09:28 PM
imac wireless internet douzanis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2007 08:35 AM
Wireless internet effecting sound.... Jak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-16-2006 06:17 AM
Control 24 and wireless internet connectivity Jsalam112 ICON & C|24 2 05-01-2003 02:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com