Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-25-2016, 06:20 PM
ha2dorff ha2dorff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 242
Default The Dock is now shipping!

Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post
When you get time, could you please post more of your opinions / impressions? I suspect I may not be the only one who will likely first see the Dock if/when I purchase a Dock.



Build quality and responsiveness are two of the things I'm curious about. Does it feel like an S3 extension? Can you compare with the Artist units? Etc.



If you get time, any information would be greatly appreciated.



Andy


I guess the quality is matching the S3. Same fader, buttons and touch buttons. The surface is not exactly like the S3. S3 have a rubber feeling, and the Dock is more solid plastic. But understand me right: it's not "cheap". For me this is not a problem at all, and it visually looks identical.
In addition to music production I do a lot of dubbing for TV. Every automation functions is right there. Select tracks on the iPad, press "Do to sel"(ected) and press one of the automation types. Or press an automation type and then a track on the iPad. Fast and easy!
I've owned and used for a while 3 Artist Mix, Artist Control and Artist Transport. This is soooooo much better! I've also owned a Slate MTi, and I really liked the Batch Commander. But with S3, Dock and the iOS app I don't look back.

Last edited by ha2dorff; 05-25-2016 at 06:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-25-2016, 06:39 PM
ha2dorff ha2dorff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 242
Default Re: The Dock is now shipping!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Young View Post
If you're able to, would you mind showing a closeup picture of how the iPad connects to the dock? Thanks!


I don't know if this zoomed photo will help, but the iPad is just placed there. Can't be easier:)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-25-2016, 07:42 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: The Dock is now shipping!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ha2dorff View Post
I guess the quality is matching the S3. Same fader, buttons and touch buttons. The surface is not exactly like the S3. S3 have a rubber feeling, and the Dock is more solid plastic. But understand me right: it's not "cheap". For me this is not a problem at all, and it visually looks identical.
In addition to music production I do a lot of dubbing for TV. Every automation functions is right there. Select tracks on the iPad, press "Do to sel"(ected) and press one of the automation types. Or press an automation type and then a track on the iPad. Fast and easy!
I've owned and used for a while 3 Artist Mix, Artist Control and Artist Transport. This is soooooo much better! I've also owned a Slate MTi, and I really liked the Batch Commander. But with S3, Dock and the iOS app I don't look back.
Glad to hear you are enjoying your Dock! It's pretty gratifying to see posts like this and for customers to finally get units. :)

I wanted to check that you have the latest appset (XML) installed though as it has important mappings for Dock buttons and better soft keys assignments. Looking at the small soft keys in the pic it looks like you don't have that. See the "DAW Setup" section here for installing the current XML: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/faq/Dock-Support

Let me know. Thanks!
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-26-2016, 02:16 AM
ha2dorff ha2dorff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 242
Default The Dock is now shipping!

Thanks, Kyle.

Yes, I think you're right.
Can you confirm that it's right now by looking at at small soft keys? The other picture shows user page 1 (page 147) that I know have changed. Thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-26-2016, 10:00 AM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: The Dock is now shipping!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ha2dorff View Post
Thanks, Kyle.

Yes, I think you're right.
Can you confirm that it's right now by looking at at small soft keys? The other picture shows user page 1 (page 147) that I know have changed. Thanks :)
Yep, that looks correct now!
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-26-2016, 04:06 PM
tattootroy tattootroy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: uk
Posts: 81
Default Re: The Dock is now shipping!

I found stock close to where I live, I shall pick one up tomorrow. fingers cross
still would like to know what feature on the avid app works with Cubase? any info?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-26-2016, 09:24 PM
alk3997 alk3997 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: The Dock is now shipping!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ha2dorff View Post
I guess the quality is matching the S3. Same fader, buttons and touch buttons. The surface is not exactly like the S3. S3 have a rubber feeling, and the Dock is more solid plastic. But understand me right: it's not "cheap". For me this is not a problem at all, and it visually looks identical.
In addition to music production I do a lot of dubbing for TV. Every automation functions is right there. Select tracks on the iPad, press "Do to sel"(ected) and press one of the automation types. Or press an automation type and then a track on the iPad. Fast and easy!
I've owned and used for a while 3 Artist Mix, Artist Control and Artist Transport. This is soooooo much better! I've also owned a Slate MTi, and I really liked the Batch Commander. But with S3, Dock and the iOS app I don't look back.

Thank you for taking the time to post this. It's very helpful to me. Your comparison with the Artist series is particularly useful since I have 2 Mix, 1 Control and 1 Transport right now.

Like you I use the automation features a lot. About the only other thing I'm researching is if there are any Artist Control or Transport features I'd lose by going to the Pro Tools Dock. I haven't found any yet. I'll probably get the Air 2 first, since I have other uses for that, and play with the Control App and then move out from there.

Thank you again!

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-27-2016, 12:08 AM
ha2dorff ha2dorff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 242
Default Re: The Dock is now shipping!

Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post
....About the only other thing I'm researching is if there are any Artist Control or Transport features I'd lose by going to the Pro Tools Dock.



Andy

Artist Control: I can't see anything you will miss. You just get a far better screen (eh... that you have to pay in addition if you not own an iPad...)
Transport: on the Artist Transport You're used to buttons that you can reach right over the wheel. On the Dock you have buttons to the right of the wheel, and horizontal touch strip right under. So anyway you have to get used to the change.

Let me know if there's anything I can do to help.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-27-2016, 03:51 AM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 203
Default Re: The Dock is now shipping!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ha2dorff View Post
Artist Control: I can't see anything you will miss. You just get a far better screen (eh... that you have to pay in addition if you not own an iPad...)
Transport: on the Artist Transport You're used to buttons that you can reach right over the wheel. On the Dock you have buttons to the right of the wheel, and horizontal touch strip right under. So anyway you have to get used to the change.

Let me know if there's anything I can do to help.
You will lose the dual jog/shuttle wheel and just have a single wheel instead. You will also lose 3 of the 4 faders on the Control. I think in pretty much every other area, it will be a gain.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-27-2016, 08:57 AM
alk3997 alk3997 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: The Dock is now shipping!

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-S-Q View Post
You will lose the dual jog/shuttle wheel and just have a single wheel instead. You will also lose 3 of the 4 faders on the Control. I think in pretty much every other area, it will be a gain.
One thing I always do with Artist Control is set the right-most fader to the attentioned channel. The one to the left of that is set to my master fader. The other two I end up not using so much since it's a reach and I have 16 faders on the two Mix units.

So, I think at most, because of the way I use the Artist components, I'll lose the dedicated master fader. That's very minor. I also seem to forget that there is a second wheel on the Transport at times :)

Thank you for the help. Your certainly helping to push me towards going this route.

Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OWC's TB2 dock YYR123 General Discussion 3 11-19-2014 06:39 AM
PT just bounces in dock ... help please wonderlover 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-23-2007 10:14 PM
T20 dock??? babilonburning 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-18-2000 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com