Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-30-2003, 01:51 PM

Default Deleting unused audio regions: problem.

i've got LE.
after i've finished chopping up my tracks and consolidating sections and whatnot, i often go to the right playlist, select unused audio, and delete. but in the last month, it only deletes the unwanted sections from my playlist and not from my audio folders. when i look in the audio folders, the little unused and unwanted pieces of audio are still there. so i end up having hundreds of little chops i don't want. and if i want to get rid of them, i have to sort through all of it. i must of clicked a setting or something. i've been using pro tools for a few years, and haven't had this problem until recently. help!
Old 12-30-2003, 02:02 PM

Default Re: Deleting unused audio regions: problem.

Go to the audio regions list on the right hand side of the edit window. At the top of the list select audio. In the pull down window choose: select, then unused regions. Then go back to the audio menu and choose: clear selected.

Then the next very important thing is in the dialog box choose either "REMOVE" which deletes them from the session and not the hardrive. OR "DELETE" Which erases them from the hardrive and session forever. What I do is I choose remove from session then do a save session copy in. This will only save the files that are in the session to the new destination. It also helps in case you screw up and accidently delete something from the hardrive.

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) Mac OS 13.6.6 Ventura,32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2024.3.1, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Old 12-30-2003, 05:07 PM

Also,