Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2017, 05:13 AM
yasita yasita is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: australia
Posts: 4
Default Current Playback Engine does not Support a Sample Rate of 48 Hz

I know this issue has been fixed a thousand times in these threads but none of the solutions I've been finding has worked for me.

Brand new Pro Tools download, all brand new hardware equipment. All necessary drivers should be installed and currently up to date.

I'm trying to open a file from an online tutorial. When I try, I get this error and the file won't open.
"Current Playback Engine does not Support a Sample Rate of 48 kHz"

Specs:
I am using Windows 7 64-bit.
M-Audio M-Track 2x2M C-Series.
Version 12.8 of Pro Tools.
i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
(RAM) 16.0GB

I have tried changing my default device in Windows Sound to something that is not my M-Audio M-Track 2X2M.
In the Windows Sound Window my "M-Audio M-Track 2X2M" is under "Speakers" and is currently set to "Ready" not "Default Device".
(When I do this, I can not hear audio from any program INCLUDING pro tools.)
I have tried closing all other programs.
I have tried restarting pro tools.
In ProTools->Setup->Playback engine my Playback Engine is set to M-Track 2X2M.
I've tried restarting my computer.
I have tried holding down the 'n' key on pro tools start up.

I'm new to this, is there anything else I can try?

Last edited by yasita; 12-07-2017 at 05:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2017, 05:26 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,293
Default Re: Current Playback Engine does not Support a Sample Rate of 48 Hz

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasita View Post
"Current Playback Engine does not Support a Sample Rate of 48 Hz"

Hi,

I assume this should read 48 khz (Not 48 hz)

If other sessions open fine at 48k then it would point to the online tutorial being wrong/corrupted somehow.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2017, 05:34 AM
yasita yasita is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: australia
Posts: 4
Default Re: Current Playback Engine does not Support a Sample Rate of 48 Hz

Yes, kHz is correct.

When I attempt to create a new session the sample rate gives me an option of 44.1 kHz
176.4 kHz
192 kHz

but not 48 kHz

I do not know yet how to open a project with 48 kHz.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2017, 11:07 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Current Playback Engine does not Support a Sample Rate of 48 Hz

Disable the M-Track in Control Panel>Sound anywhere you find it there.

Is there a software control panel for the M-Track? Look there and see if you can change the sample rate there first. Being able to change sample rates and buffer sizes from within Pro Tools when using a third party interface is dependent on the third party interface's drivers. Some you can some you can't. For example, my RME UFX's drivers allow me to change sample rates within Pro Tools, but the buffer size has to changed in the RME's software, not from within Pro Tools.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2017, 12:09 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,541
Default Re: Current Playback Engine does not Support a Sample Rate of 48 Hz

More accurately, don't let Windows designate the interface as the default sound device. Let the onboard sound card handle the Windows sounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 0 KHz theproxy12@hotmail.com Pro Tools 12 Discussion 6 08-09-2017 01:11 PM
Current Playback Engine does not Support a Sample Rate of 48 Hz Glide Pro Tools 12 Discussion 13 02-08-2017 03:49 PM
the current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 44.1 khz bzerk Pro Tools 12 Discussion 11 05-03-2015 07:13 PM
The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 kHz. allegrarc Pro Tools Software (Mac) 9 11-27-2014 10:43 PM
the current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 47.9 kHz mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 3 03-30-2013 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com